We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Helpful Staff, Great place to host an event.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good Hotel, Helpful Staff, Great place to host an event.”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I recently sayed here on business with my company which was hosting an event here. The staff was very professional, and well manored. They were also very helpful with directions, and getting me where I needed to go with much ease. I loved the fact they have their own restaurant/ grille, and lounge in the evenings. It's nice after a long day of meetings to not have to leave. Great event space, lots of square feet, great potential for larger events and/or meetings. Beautiful ballrooms!! I laugh at the review, "OK for the 80's," because I did some research while here and the hotel didn't even open until 1998. lol. Anyhow. Nice hotel, great location, right next to the Expocentre, and within minutes of exploring some new attractions as well as the Capitol Building in downtown Topeka. P.S. the pictures on here must be from the winter, because they really do not do this hotel justice. It's very colorful, and nicely landscaped outside. Pretty fountains (inside & out), and another thing, the plants inside are real. Minus the ones in the boxes on the balconys, but really who, if anyone, would want to water plants on the 7th floor, could you imagine the mess of run off water that could create. Maybe it's just me but I thought it was a nice break from limited services, and the typical self service hotels we have seen. Some of the pics I'd seenon here before traveling almost scared me away, and almost made me worry, but are clearly just bad pictures from some cloudy wintery days. Good rating in my book. Suggest it for your next stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mica1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3sacrwd1987, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with the Capitol Plaza Hotel. I am so glad that you had a positive experience and I thank you for the kind comments.

I was hoping that you could let me know where you found the pictures that you had posted. These are obviously old and very outdated. We have changed our pictures over a few times since then, and I have actually never even seen the ones that you had posted. If you could let me know, I will have them changed on whatever site that you found them on. Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention.

Sincerely,

Kevin Smith-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    152
    78
    44
    16
See reviews for
106
43
26
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackie77
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms are spacious but this hotel must be older. The bathroom was clean enough but older and the bathtub was stained. Water pressure left alot to be desired. I would not hesitate to stay here but look further if you want something special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stay here for the 5A State Basketball Championships. The venue is right next door. Breakfast is awesome. Rooms are clean. If you are there for something at the ExpoCenter or Washburn. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3sacrwd1987, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments.

We have finally received notice that Hotels.com had repaired their website, and removed the "free breakfast" listing. We have honored this for those guests that were misinformed through Hotels.com and wanted to let you know that this is fixed now.

Thanks so much for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Kevin Smith-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
337 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

No complaints. Breakfast was pretty good. Lots of space in the room and everything was clean. They did overbill me and i'm still trying to get that sorted out, but i think the issue may be on my company's end anyhow. Would stay here again if i'm back in Topeka for business.

G Man

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMan5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Good curb appeal and the lobby is old fashioned but okay. The rooms are dark dingy and depressing. Faded pictures, old drapes, old furnishings. Bed was comfortable. There is no coffee available in the lobby and the grille didn't have to go cups, everyone was going across the street to the gas station!!!! Pretty pathetic. The in room coffee was awful. There is one washer and one dryer in the laundry room and when we went in the one dryer had been removed for servicing. The "atrium" was actually a ton of old plastic plants stuck in old flower boxes on the balconies. For the money there would be many better places in town.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had a groupon for one night that included a bottle of house wine or two beers and two complimentary breakfast buffets. Check in was easy. The room was okay, but bugs appeared on our carpet while we were getting ready to go. The window on our fourth window room opened, but didn't have a screen, which seems a little dangerous. The breakfast was a standard buffet, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, biscuits and gravy and sausage. Our second night we reserved the bed and breakfast special online (an annoying feature that you could not get the online price when you called the hotel directly) and I'm guessing since it was a Sunday morning there was an omlet station and waffle maker and carved beef. The first two were good, didn't try the beef so I cannot review.
The pool was a decent size and indoors but not heated. It was 95 the day we got in so it was a nice temperature. The hot tub was broken.
Parking was decent and the location was safe.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suedester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
766 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We very much enjoyed hosting our event at the Capitol Plaza. The room was set up as directed, the staff is incredible, and everything went very smoothly. The only reason why I didn't give the highest review was the fact that our hotel bathroom had a couple of water beetles. Other than that, it was great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.9 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#4 of 32 in Topeka
355 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#7 of 32 in Topeka
405 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Property: Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Address: 1717 SW Topeka Blvd, Topeka, KS 66612-1410
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing