We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quaint French Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Yasu French Restaurant

Chez Yasu French Restaurant
2701 Southwest 17th Street # 3, Topeka, KS 66604
785 357-1003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 339 Restaurants in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, Quaint French Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I ordered escargot, French onion soup, house salad w/ house dressing, seafood crepe w/ mashed potatoes and green beans. Linen table cloths, china and a nice home feel. All of my food was good, the service was good and I liked the atomosphere. I felt like I was at a chef friends house for a nice dinner. I will say the outside of the restaurant does not match the inside. The outside looks like a saloon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
362 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent, small place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Tried this on a Tuesday night, didn't think we needed reservations but they a party that took all of one room, we got the last table in the lobby but it was great, really only like one seating so there was no traffic. Great little French menu and wine list. Simply prepared but very good. Two of us usually end up splitting an appetizer, salad, entree and desert and everything we had was good. Especially liked the stuffed sole. Parking easy and it's in a good part of town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Food was fresh, but portions were small for the price. Chicken with rice and vegetables was boring (just cooked pieces of chicken with no flavor), vegetables were delicious. Bread was very good, but butter was frozen. I think our server was new, we had to get our own water, they weren't busy.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bestfoodforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food is fabulous! It is not located near the busy Wanamaker corridor, but it is easy to get to and well worth the trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler_opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Chez Yasu really is good food, although it's a bit pricey. Go ahead and try the escargot -- it's not at all scary! We treated ourselves to creme brulee as well, and it was wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank jenrezac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Yasu French Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Yasu French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing