We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A hidden gem!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Yasu French Restaurant

Chez Yasu French Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 345 Restaurants in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food is fabulous! It is not located near the busy Wanamaker corridor, but it is easy to get to and well worth the trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler_opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Chez Yasu really is good food, although it's a bit pricey. Go ahead and try the escargot -- it's not at all scary! We treated ourselves to creme brulee as well, and it was wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank jenrezac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Excelllent food, very gourmet. Most perfectly cooked vegetables I've tever eaten at a restaurant. Portion sizes are not American, so if you're a big eater you'll probably need to order two entrees, but I liked the experience of feeling satisfied rather than overstuffed. A little on the pricy side.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the few good restaurants in Topeka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant many times and found it to be solidly good each time. It being in Topeka, it is not as elegant as French restaurants in other cities though. It is one of the few trusted restaurants and is also not part of a faceless chain. For Topeka, it's on the more expensive side. Also, diners tend to be on the older side. Great food!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suelhallmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant meals I will eat this year, 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I ate dinner here on May 4 and had one of the best restaurant meals we will have in 2012 and we eat out at least 100 times a year. The food was excellent - I had filet and my wife had seafood. Each was prepared with a very flavorful sauce that was not spicy (we do not like spicy foods), but was flavored with herbs. The atmosphere in the restaurant was quiet even though the restaurant was nearly full. Therefore, my wife and I could talk with one another and we could hear each other across the table.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmaier69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Yasu French Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Yasu French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing