We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“some things never change” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relax Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relax Inn
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Lawson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“some things never change”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

While we had to stay in Topeka for a few days, I do question the decision to stay at the Motel 6. The host hotel for our event was overbooked, so once again I went to old reliable Motel 6. We were in Topeka for a Dog show and there aren't many hotels that allow dogs, Motel 6 is one of them that does. I made an early reservation, requested first floor. We got there early and were given a third floor room, which smelled so bad we refused it. They changed us to another third floor room. There is no elevator. There was "nothing" available on the first or second floor. Since everywhere else was booked or did not allow dogs, we were stuck. The rooms are old, the beds are old, the furniture is worn and old. The maid service came and remade our beds every day but that was all. I took out our trash and went to the desk daily to get fresh towels, once having to take down the used ones. It was a bit expensive for a Motel 6. The grounds were burned dry due to the drought and there were weeds and stickers. This was the 3rd time we have used this motel and it just never gets better, just more expensive. While we were there some cars (not ours) were broken into and things were stolen. The police were also there for an altercation (again not us). I can say, never again to this Motel 6.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, there are no good rooms at this Motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecile T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    8
    7
    13
See reviews for
7
7
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, MO
Level Contributor
339 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Older Motel 6, I actually stayed here the first time I drove to Colorado in 1992. Carpet is newer; otherwise not much has been done. The air conditioning worked great, TV had lots of channels, but you had to pay $3 for internet. Good location, close to lots of restaurants, you can walk to Arby’s, and there are many other eating places within 1 mile. Bathroom was very old, looked like the floor had been laid down multiple times, but lots of counter space at the sink. Beds were OK, nothing special. I asked for a quiet room, but they put me in a 3rd floor room facing Wanamaker, luckily the air conditioning drowned out the road noise. The stairwell near the office is falling down and roped off, the others were OK, but are deteriorating with lots of rust. You can’t beat the price at $31.99, and they only charged 7.8% for tax when it should have been close to 15%. Not really a family motel, but I would probably stay here again if I was in Topeka or passing through. Price and location were very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

pros;
nice front desk staff
room was clean

cons:
kind of pricey for a motel 6 and for what you get.
having to pay 3 dollars for internet

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arwen_Windwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa,OK.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

This was the worst motel I have ever stayed in!
The 1st room we were in had Hot Air conditioning, We changed rooms to one with cold air but the Toilet seat was broke and it wouldnt flush.
Maintenace came two days later and still did not fix it, The bath tub and toilet was never cleaned and My wifes Medication was stolen from the room when we were gone. Manager was no help at all.

Motel 6 Does not need to leave the light on for us because we will never be back.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank pls560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Topeka hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 32 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Value Place Topeka
Value Place Topeka
#18 of 32 in Topeka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Topeka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Topeka
Econo Lodge Topeka
#21 of 32 in Topeka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn

Property: Relax Inn
Address: 1224 Wanamaker Rd SW, Topeka, KS 66604 (Formerly Motel 6 Topeka West)
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Motel-6 so you can book your Relax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Topeka
Motel Six Topeka
Topeka Motel Six
Topeka Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing