We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal For Your Money”
Review of Ramada Topeka West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Topeka West
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Deal For Your Money”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed Easter weekend and specifically at this hotel for the pool and water slide.

The pool and water slide were wonderful and enjoyed by both myself and the kids!

The two gentleman working Friday pm when we checked in were fabulous and very friendly. The woman working the front desk later that evening though needed to take a happy pill. She wasn't nice to the kids and acted like answering questions as the front desk clerk was a bother.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwybozimmerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
935CharlesB935, General Manager at Ramada Topeka West, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments were helpful as your problem will be addressed immediately. We do appreciate families with kids. Hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    199
    232
    156
    99
See reviews for
459
110
54
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stopped over here on a weeknight the first week of January, well after any parties or big events should have been going on. The place was quite empty when we checked in, and loved the pool-side room with easy access to the pool area that is in the middle of the hotel. The pool is 5 ft at the deepest, and medium sized, so we were able to just sit poolside and watch the kids rather than have to get in ourselves (our 5 year old still wears a life jacket and needs close supervision). There is a medium hot tub with a fountain in the middle just next to the pool, it was all very nice. We were disappointed to find out that the waterslide is only turned on on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays (we were there on a Thursday), but later a small family reunion came in and they turned it on, so the kids were pretty happy about that.

This hotel seems to be something of a destination for locals (reunions, soccer parties, etc), so I wonder if this might be the only/best indoor pool in the town that draws them in. I also noted some locals like to come to the hotel bar, which is small and quiet. The party during our stay had mostly preteen girls, and we didn't have any problems with people being loud, rowdy, or drinking. In the morning the local baker's union was having a big meeting in the lobby so, overall it seems this is not just a traveler's stop and the facility does cater to local business.

The room was big, clean, nice beds, really nothing to complain about at all. We had no problems with noise, though it wasn't a super busy night. The only small complaint I could have is that the food left a little something to be desired, but was overall still edible and enjoyable. The restaurant's saving grace is that their prices are very low - I think it was only $14 for the T-bone steak. The steaks were very thin, and the sirloin was dry....if I'd paid $35 a pop I would have complained, but for the price there is really nothing to complain about, just know that it's not going to be a 5-Star meal. The continental breakfast was overall very good, though the biscuits were pretty dry and hardened by 9am, everything else was just fine.

Overall, we'd absolutely stay here again. The price is reasonable and you can't beat the pool facilities. I think if we planned to stay here on a holiday weekend, I might ask first if there are any parties planned since we have small kids, but otherwise I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siren394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Worst hotel stay of my life. I took my wife and kids to this hotel to enjoy swimming and a night away. Shortly after we arrived, a group of teenagers came in as well. They spent the entire afternoon in the pool, cursing loudly and sprinting the hallways nearby. As the evening progressed, they started drinking beer from cans and glass bottles while in the hot tub. The fact that they were drinking while laughing with the yellow-shirted man supposedly in charge of pool safety led us to believe that they were either staff or family/friends of staff. This was confirmed later. We pulled our kids out of the pool and tried calling the front desk. Knowing what was going on, they weren't answering the phone, so my wife and i each went separately to ask them to handle it. The kid at the desk, "J"-who appeared high-essentially told her to handle it herself. After that, a large youngman in a tan hotel uniform poured their drinks into Styrofoam cups and continued to joke with them. Then i approached the front desk to ask for a number i could call to report what was going on. "J" said he didn't know of any complaint department. I then asked for his name and for the names of the two employees allowing for and covering for the kids drinking in the pool. "J" said it would be illegal for him to give me their names. My kids overheard the partiers threaten multiple guests who asked them to stop. They also fell onto of my daughter while wrestling. When we tried to take pictures to show the manager and we were approached and threatened. Once i informed "J" that i would be speaking to the manager the next morning the beer and the partiers were ushered out the back door by the large shaved-headed uniformed man, whooping and hollering and high-fiving the whole way out. We'll see what happens in the morning, but this whole experience is disgraceful. If any of these three employees remains here, i will forever warn people that this hotel is in no way safe or enjoyable for children or families.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atc8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles B, General Manager at Ramada Topeka West, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are very sorry for this incident. It was not an incident of employees using the pool, but our employees not properly watching what was happening and properly addressing the situation. The Holiday Inn has very strict restrictions about employees being at the hotel. The guests in question were returning guests from a previous stay who may have known one of the employees from this previous stay at the hotel. We appreciate being made aware of the situation as customer service and guest satisfaction are of the utmost important to our business. We are following up with coaching and counseling sessions for all employees on the proper way to address these types of situations, including guests who have consumed an excess amount alcohol. Once again we apologize for this incident and are proactively training to eliminate further instances of this nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Topeka hotels

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here several times. Front desk staff has always been friendly and helpful. It's an older hotel but the room has always been clean when I've stayed there. It's also been very quiet. Will stay here again when I'm passing through Topeka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easiwin1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Overall, the stay was good. Hassle free check-in and good room located close to the pool. We didn't have too many issues with noise from the pool and it closes at night anyway. Room was pretty dated especially the shower and old TV. The free breakfast in the morning was good, but one two of the days, the breakfast attendants were rude and didn't want to do much of anything. The last two days of our stay the breakfast attendant was excellent. Had a maintenance issue that was resolved very quickly and the maintenance employee was very professional and made sure everything was taken care of. He even asked how everything was the next day. Hopefully anyone else who stays at this property will enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Pool rooms can be a little noisy, especially if the property is busy, but in the end not to big of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterpklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We arrived late and checked in with no problems but the clerk told us one of the locks MAY not work. We got a room with two doors and sure enough, one of the door locks did not work. When we went to bed we locked both deadbolts. In the morning we used the door with the broken lock to exit for breakfast. Breakfast was really good for a free breakfast. We returned to the room and sure enough, the door with broken lock still didn't work so we went around to the other door and it didn't work either. We were locked out of our room! After working with the front desk and the maintenance guys, they were able to let us in... 45 minutes later.

Other than that, the hotel was nice and the room was comfortable. The property had some meeting rooms that looked dated but nice. The rest of the property was a little dated and needed a facelift with the lava rock look. The atrium was open from the front entrance around the corner to the conference and hotel rooms 4 stories tall. It was hot and humid because of the pool but not unbearable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Topeka West, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Doug M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry about the broken door lock. We will address this and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed overnight at Topeka on my way to Colorado Springs from Springfield, IL. Gotten a pretty good rate through Priceline. The room and bed are Holiday Inn standards. Dont really like that the fact the swimming pool is right in the center of lobby, but it was closed when i was there anyway. The design of the hotel is a bit outdated. Love the hot breakfast bar, that was beyond my expectation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakewalk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.2 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Best Western Topeka Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 32 in Topeka
123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Topeka West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Topeka West

Property: Ramada Topeka West
Address: 605 SW Fairlawn Rd, Topeka, KS 66606-2335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Topeka West 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeting and Event Space for Conferences, Weddings and Banquets Near Topeka Attractions Comfort and convenience are standards at the Ramada Topeka West hotel. Located at Interstate 70 and Fairlawn Road, find yourself only moments away from the best Kansas attractions and nightlife. A relaxing dining experience is closer than ever at the Landmark Grill, located on-site and featuring nightly food and drink specials. Begin your day with a free hot breakfast buffet in the Pantry. Get a great workout in our fitness center followed by a refreshing swim in our indoor heated pool with hot tub and water slide. Guest traveling for work will appreciate our business center, meeting facilities and banquet space, along with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel. Our pet-friendly Topeka hotel also offers room service, free local area shuttle and suite accommodations. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Bring the whole family and spend a day at the Topeka Zoo, or choose to witness exciting races at the NHRA Racetrack. Visit your favorite student or go on a campus tour close by at Washburn University, then step back in time at the Kansas Museum of History. The Kansas State Capital is also minutes away from our hotel in Topeka. DINING OPTIONS Landmark Grill, located onsite, is open nightly while the Pantry is open for breakfast and offers convenient room service. If you'd rather venture out, Paisano's Ristorante features authentic Italian specialties while the Blue Moose Bar & Grill boasts delicious pub cuisine in a casual setting. For dinner and a comedy or music show, stop by Jeremiah Bullfrogs Sports Bar and Grill or try a fresh tapped beer at Blind Tiger Brewery. When you're in the mood for traditional Italian food with a twist, visit Johnny Carino's. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Topeka features event space for large and small meetings, weddings, banquet events and more. Also take advantage of our onsite business center with copy, print and fax capabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Topeka West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Topeka Hotel Topeka
Holiday Inn Topeka West
Topeka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing