We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST...all the way around!!”
Review of Lonnie Q's BBQ

Lonnie Q's BBQ
Ranked #2 of 390 Restaurants in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

The best BBQ in town!! Lonnie’s cup of heaven, is exactly what the name implies. Yummm! I always skip the beans (the only thing I’m not crazy about) and get a double order of cheesy potatoes (the best I’ve ever had!!) Plenty for 2 meals! Did I mention the service? Lonnie, the owner unlocks the doors and greets the customers standing in line. Talk about good, personal service! The service is as impressive as food!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TopekaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 311 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2018

Lonnie makes a mean cup of heaven! Enough food for two meals, but you’ll eat it all because you won’t be able to stop. :) When it’s gone, it’s gone, so get there early!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank T1635LHchristinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This the best Barbeque place in this area! They are always busy on the days they are open! They usually have lines waiting! They have wonderful smoked meats and potato casserole and baked beans and cold slaw! You can get orders to go! They give you lots of food! It is the BEST!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Inspiration558590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

If you like BBQ (and especially if you like BBQ Ribs), you have to take a trip to Topeka, Kansas to visit Lonnie Q’s BBQ. We were in Topeka on business having flown in from Toronto the day before and the word about town (and at my husband’s business meeting) was all about Lonnie and his BBQ Ribs. Lonnie pays tribute to the master of blues guitar, the one and only Eric Clapton; but Lonnie is a legend himself. He is only open for 2 hours a day and he personally serves his BBQ to each customer until he runs out of meat. He engages each customer with a smile and eagerness to serve; he loves what he is doing and is very generous. We ordered a slab and 1/2 of Ribs with coleslaw but Lonnie insisted we try a sampling of his three meats (turkey breast, pulled pork and brisket) with his “world reknown” cheesy tatars and so he delivered a sampling to our table at no extra charge. All his meats are delicious and perfectly tender with very little fat; and, Lonnie is right, you cannot pass up his cheesy tatars—-they are mouth wateringly delicious. I meant to only have a taste but I finished the entire serving. Lonnie’s is only open for dinner one night a week (Friday) for two hours and only serves Ribs Thursdays and Fridays. His restaurant his super cool and is best described as casual chic and hip....immaculately clean with photos of Eric Clapton; Fender Guitars hung on the walls, Harley Davidson’s and paintings of Sunflowers. The buzz and laughter from the patrons who flood through the door when he opens at 11 AM and wind through the single level restaurant waiting for their BBQ is alive and exciting. After traveling around the world and having BBQ in nearly all of the Southern States, it’s an easy decision to make-Lonnie is the man and he serves the best, tender and most delicious BBQ in an amazing atmosphere. This is a place that makes Topeka worth visiting.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SheriMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

The portions are huge! My family of 4 share two Q cups and a half rack of ribs. There was plenty for the whole family! (Two adults, a 14 year old and a 4 year old). The cup of heaven had all three meats: pork, brisket and turkey along with “taters” and beans.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lonnie Q's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Lonnie Q's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing