We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden jewell!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kansas Museum of History

Kansas Museum of History
Ranked #5 of 46 things to do in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The striking "White Buffalo" sculpture outside offers an inkling of the interesting exhibits inside this museum, including a steam locomotive, a Southern Cheyenne teepee, one of the largest collections of prairie memorabilia in the U.S. and a hands-on children's area.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden jewell!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice small museum, great for kids down to toddler age as there are age appropriate exhibits and play areas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    51
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berryton, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice museum, have been here several times and always enjoy the featured theme, last visit was "hats" which was fun. The gift shop always has neat things to purchase also.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“continuous improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Visiting this museum again after having been there in the 90s, I found that even though many of the exhibits were the same, they'd been improved with interactive educational displays. I especially appreciated the native american displays and the frontier displays. Children will love the train which has many cars open for walking through. The Civil War displays are quite good but most people seemed to enjoy the stroll through the decades - especially those who lived through them and now they are "history".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabetha, Kansas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went here one day when we had some time to kill. It was very interesting for the adults. The kids had fun, but it wasn't a very "fun" experience. If they could incorporate more hands on fun activities for the kids, it would have made the experience better. We still had a good time, and the museum was done well. We will go back.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great place to visit, if you have a full day or just an hour you can really enjoy this museum. If you like trains you'll enjoy this stop and if your looking for Kansas history you'll find it here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dugan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kansas Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing