We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If you're at all interested in history, spend a half day here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas Museum of History

Kansas Museum of History
Ranked #5 of 43 things to do in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The striking "White Buffalo" sculpture outside offers an inkling of the interesting exhibits inside this museum, including a steam locomotive, a Southern Cheyenne teepee, one of the largest collections of prairie memorabilia in the U.S. and a hands-on children's area.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“If you're at all interested in history, spend a half day here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Kansas Museum of History is truly amazing, with highly detailed exhibits that both inform and entertain -- heavy emphasis on inform. I grew up in Kansas, my wife has spent little time here, and we both were fascinated at the chronological characterization of daily life in the region. Minor issues: The layout sometimes invites confusion as to where one should go next, and some display signage is under-lit to the point of being unreadable (which the museum says is necessary to protect antiquities from light, but there are ways to deal with that). Minor issues aside, this is a wonderful and expansive place. Be prepared to spend hours.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank originalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    49
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I try to get out to the kansas Museum of History every couple of years, because it really is a good museum. There are several spots in the museum that allow for interactive learning which is great especially when you have your children who are experiencing the museum. There is an area just off the main entrance that has many things for children to enjoy. Besides the opportunity to do some crafts, there are also period costumes that children can dress up in and items that can be handled and "played with" to help young learners learn.
There are also temporary displays that give the regular visitor a chance to see something new each time they come.
The negatives that I see to the museum are that it is a bit off the beaten path, so you have to want to get there. Also, there is a one room schoolhouse on the property, but it is a hike to get to, especially when escorting those with little feet!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cargotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were traveling from Minnesota to OKC for a wedding and stopped. The museum was far larger than I thought or the building suggests. We found it very interesting. I don't think our young children would have enjoyed it as much but well worth the stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank Landscaper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsborg, Kansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

For those who love history, this is a must see. The museum is wonderful and their research center/archives was amazing. I was lucky enough to get to tour the archives and I left very impressed with both the staff and the scope of their collection.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiekansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a great museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This museum takes you through history with great exhibits and even a real train inside you can walk through. It is one of the best I have seen taking you through the history of different eras of history. If you have to choose between this and the tour at the Old Prairie Town at Ward-Meade Historic Site then I would definitely take the Old Prairie Town - it is the real thing!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AKButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansas Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to Kansas Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing