We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a great experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Arrived late so chalk up part of the issues with being the last to arrive.... Worst part of the hotel was there is not enough parking near the hotel. We ended up finding a spot between the Burger King drive thru and the Hooters parking lot. Just glad my vehicle was still there in the morning. Room was right by the elevator and noisy all night long. Breakfast was average at best. Best part of the stay was leaving.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDavisFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    79
    33
    21
    19
See reviews for
142
54
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

A big thanks to Mellisa at the front desk fer great service and to Rossele for her great smile and delicious biscuits and gravy at breakast. Both women were very accommodating and helped to make our stay very nice.

Thanks for your excellent customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Topeka. We originally planned to stay overnight but the staff was so accommodating, friendly, and knowledgeable about the city, we stayed a second night. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent (the cooking staff was great), and Chris, the manager, exemplified the highest level of efficiency, knowledge, and friendliness. We are staying at the Inn again tomorrow on our way back through Kansas.

Room Tip: I would recommend this Inn to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stopped at the hotel as part of a road trip to Kansas. After having a nice stay at another CI&S the night before and being a regular guest of this chain, we opted to stay here without checking any other hotels out. We checked in late so not sure if we got a left over room or if other rooms are in the shape of the one we stayed in. The finish was very worn with doors missing from the furniture unit. The ceiling was dirty. The pictures over the bed were crooked and way off center from the beds. One picture by the entrance door was also hanging in strange spot. It was then that we realized that the pictures appear to be hung to cover defects in the wall. Our room has been well worn. The shower head was plain and there was no vent system in the bathroom either. On the positive, the room and facility overall are clean. The HVAC system looked newer and worked great. The room was quite and we got a good night of sleep. The room smelled fresh with no odors.

The breakfast was disappointing. The coffee was empty and it took too long for it to be brewed. The oatmeal was dried and thick and the fruit dark. My husband doesn't eat either of these so his morning experience aside from missing coffee was a better one.

I am not familiar with Topeka but the location seems safe and is close to the dining and shopping areas.

All staff we encountered were pleasant. While there are positives to this location there are several negatives and in my opinion this location is sub-par to other CI&S I have stayed at. As another reviewer stated this location "needs a little work". It appears they have two levels of rooms because the one we were in could not get a good review. It's not a bad place but the shape of the room we had does not warrant the price. If you get a room that some of the positive reviewers are leaving this will be a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room otherwise you risk one in so so condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I would like to apologize for the experience you had at our property here in Topeka, KS, and would like to invite you back to our property in the future. We are still currently undergoing some renovations and once completed we would love a chance to redeem ourselves. Please give us a call the next time you are in the Topeka, KS area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Traveling across the country....long driving days. Stopped here. Melissa, the night desk staffer was so welcoming, pleasant and efficient. Bed was super comfy and room was clean, well appointed and quiet. What a pleasant surprise to find real dishes, silverware and a REAL coffee cup to make me feel at home! Chris Davis, the front desk manager was the icing on the cake....professional, friendly and most efficient.....he even helped me load my bag into my car when he realized I had a shoulder injury. Chivalry is NOT dead...nor are Midwest core values. All in all, this hotel was a little oasis in the desert known as I-70.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank VivieMartinsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay here at the Country Inn and Suites here in Topeka, Kansas and we hope that you will enjoy another stay at our property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburg, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I travel over 125 nights a year and the Country Inn & Suites Topeka West is my favorite place to stay. 1st- the rooms are always clean and comfortable. 2nd- the staff is genuniely friendly an caring about my stay being the best it can be. 3rd-- its in a great location with easy acess to the interstates and places to see and multi choices to dine. I would not sty anywhere else in TOpeka or surrounding area.

Room Tip: They are all comfortable and quit rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farwell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are excited to see that you enjoyed you stay at our facility. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

In town for a business meeting, and Country Inn is usually a very nice pick. This one was a little worn and tired. HEAVY perfumed room spray met me when I got to my room. Paint was peeling off wood trim. Bathroom sink stopper didn't work. Shower was a bit difficult as it switched back and forth from hot to cold water, all by itself. Air conditioning would never get cooler. It was not the worst hotel I've ever been in, but not great either. I would probably try a different hotel if in Topeka again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DCHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I apologize that your last experience in our hotel was less than satisfactory. I would like you to know that we have installed new air conditioners in our rooms as well as addressed the other issues that were addressed. I would like to invite you to stay at our property again in the future and to let us redeem ourselves. Please give us a call the next time you are traveling to the Topeka, KS area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.1 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#4 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.3 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#6 of 32 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Topeka Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Address: 6020 SW 10th Ave, 6020 SW 10th Street, Topeka, KS 66615-3814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Topeka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#8 Family Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West Hotel Topeka
Country Inn And Suites Topeka-West
Country Inn Topeka West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing