We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean but noisy”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here from reviews. Room needed updating desperately but it was very clean. The pool and hot tub were old and sort of scary but we're open till midnight. The AC was very noisey and we could hear water running from other rooms. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. Cookies and coffee in the lobby were nice. Nice TV and fridge. We would stay again but would want a better rate. Motels in Topeka seem to be pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndamcginley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Mr. Lyndam, we are terribly sorry about the noise. We take full responsibility for this incident and are working to insure that any situation like this will not happen again. After speaking with you today, I thank you for your understanding and we do look forward to having you stay with us again on your next passing through Topeka. Wishing you happy and safe travels, the Country Inns & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    87
    38
    24
    21
See reviews for
151
62
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After along drive, this hotel was very welcome oasis. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and comfortable. This hotel was located near many restaurants, gas stations, and stores. I found it was easy to access the highways and it took only a few minutes to get to our destination. The breakfast was good and the business center was a definite plus. The laundry room was larger than most and it had a folding table. It was nice to see that the entire facility is non-smoking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 724charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had an opportunity to travel back to Topeka for business and returned to stay at the Country Inn & Suites and it did not disappoint! From the staff to the breakfast and everything in between my visit was great. Sometimes when you stay at the same hotel nine months apart, you might notice things showing some wear and tear, but this was not the case at this Country Inn. It seems to me that the owners and management staff are really striving to continue to update the property and provide a wonderful experience for their guests. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Great location right off of I-70 and the start of Wanamaker Road where there is much to choose from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I want to personally thank you for the great review for our hotel. It's very satisfying to hear when a guest sees and appreciates the hard work our staff does to assure customer satisfaction.
Priya Sandir
General Manager
6020 sw 10th street
Topeka,ks 66615
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites on our trip to Topeka, Kansas. The Desk clerks were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed and even offered us some chocolate chip cookies, which was a nice topper to our day... I would recommend the Hotel to anyone traveling to Topeka, Kansas. it is close to the highway and restaurants and shopping. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We happen to get a room with a King and a hot tub right in the room, it was a great relief after driving all day. And don't forget the great breakfast that they served, there is a lot to choose from..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
First, I want to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. You had some kind things to say about our property and staff which I greatly appreciate. We strive to be the best of the best and its nice to see our hard work is appreciated.
Thanks Again,
Priya Sandir
General Manager
Country Inns & Suites
Topeka,ks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've stayed at a ton of country inns and this one is just OK compared to the rest of them. Like so many I have stayed at lately this one was not build as a country inn but the conversion job is not bad. Converted hotels never have enough space for the breakfast area and this one is no exception. But overall it is clean and in decent shape so I would stay again.

The staff was great and I got a very nice note from the manager after I did my online review. It is unfortunate the hotel is not smoke free but he said they are working to get it that way. How hard can it be to put up a sign? I don’t understand why they would do such an extensive remodel and not make it smoke free. We could smell it everywhere we went in the hotel. Just a little but still just a little is like having just a little dog poop in your brownies it ruins everything! The other issue that was not pleasant is the room was hotter than hot when we walked in. It was a 3rd floor room and it was 103 out so it took till about midnight before it was not roasting in there. And the purpose of the reservation is???

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Priya Sandir
MANAGER
COUNTRY INN
7854789800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We often stay with Country Inn and Suites. This one did not live up to the brand. Front desk staff cordial. Check in was smooth. Room was warm when we walked in. A/C was weak and did not circulate air well. A/C fan was clunky and loud. Ceiling fan in sitting area helped but seemed out of place. Mentioned a/c issues after checking in, not much response from front desk. Toilet did not flush well. Had to hold it down then it had a chugging noise to finish the flush. Hole in shower stall around shower head needed fixing. Not enough towels in room and two decaf coffee packs, no regular, which was not noticed until morning.

On the positive, bed seemed comfortable and wifi easy to use. Power strip on desk was handy. Breakfast as expected.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issue with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Priya Sandir
MANAGER
COUNTRY INN
7854789800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first stay at a Country Inn & Suites. We chose this hotel because we have friends that stay at this line on all their vacations, so we also wanted to try it. Great location right off the highway, lots of restaurants and gas stations nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful, and our room was spacious and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The pool and hottub were larger than we expected and even know there were about 20 people using the pool, it did not seem overcrowded. The cookies upon checking in were delightful, and we were very impressed with the morning breakfast choices: fresh made waffles, eggs, sausage, hash browns, 4 kinds of cereal, bagels, toast, danish, fresh fruit, yogurt with berry topping, juices, milk, coffee and more! But the person who made the trip for us was the young man working at the breakfast bar on July 22, who was beyond helpful with assisting us with our young boys during breakfast. (I think his name was Chris!) One person can really set your day off right, and both my husband and I agreed he made our stay at the hotel fantastic. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, no noise above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Priya Sandir
MANAGER
COUNTRY INN
7854789800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.0 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#7 of 32 in Topeka
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker
4.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Address: 6020 SW 10th Ave, 6020 SW 10th Street, Topeka, KS 66615-3814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Topeka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#8 Family Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West Hotel Topeka
Country Inn And Suites Topeka-West
Country Inn Topeka West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing