We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Burger Stand

The Burger Stand
Ranked #11 of 339 Restaurants in Topeka
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Burger Stand opened on Sept. 8, 2011 in Topeka's College Hill district. The Burger Stand features 2 bars with pool and ping pong tables. Seating for 270 inside with room for another 40-50 on the out-door patio. Specialty burgers with regular and sweet potato french fries.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came here on a whim, since the restaurant we wanted to go to wasn't open yet. The price seemed a little steep, but once you tasted the food you realize it's worth the price. They are thick burgers and cooked perfectly. They have a wide variety of food. We all ordered different fries and sides, so we could taste a few. They were all awesome. It's a big place and it's very open. The tables aren't on top of each other, so you don't feel crowded at all. My only complaint was the ketchup. I love ketchup on my burger and this ketchup tasted off. Threw off the taste of my burger, so I took it off.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueyes0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the Burger Stand several times. We usually get a Kobe burger and share it with a generous order of fries. Unless you are really hungry, this will fill you up. Try the Truffle Fries with various dipping sauces, they give you enough for two.

The ambiance is rather spartan, but we will keep coming back. They have ping pong and a pool table in the back, for those who want to stay and play. Good food, good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bestfoodforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious burgers and fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Our whole family enjoyed the burgers and the sweet potato fries! The cost is more than usual but the quality was excellent!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OurfamilyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Inovative for Topeka Ks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

People complain about the price of the burgers but you get what you pay for. Quality! My favorite fries are the Truffle oil and parmesan and sweet potatoes. I do not care for the tofu fries. Good selection of beers and check out the back room for a game of pool.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jannisxixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfort Food, Elevated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sometimes the simplest food is the best food, right? But that doesn't mean simple food should be plain. Well, the Burger Stand takes the simplicity of the burger joint to a whole other level.

They have a great selection of beers. They have burgers, but they also have vegetarian options, and corn dogs, and non-beef burgers. And when you read the menu, it's all so tempting. They do a bunch of different varieties of french fries, and the ones I had were amazing.

If I'm in Topeka again, this is the first place I'll think of going to eat at. Simple food, but packed with flavor, at a very affordable price. Just an awesome place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank prch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Stand also viewed

 

Been to The Burger Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing