We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trip back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senate Luxury Suites
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The suites were large and it was cool staying in a place with history. It did have some negatives - the deadbolt on the door stuck and it took a minute or two to get out of the room, breakfast was the barest minimum. If you live in an apartment in a big city, I would say skip this but if you are from the 'burbs, it is a nice trip back in time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We appreciate your review. I would like to apologize for the deadbolt being stuck on the door. It has been fixed however thanks to seeing your review. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast buffet. We try to stay competitive with other hotels with our variety of Eggs, bacon, waffles, muffins, fruits, cereals, coffee, and juices. The Senate allows any type of person from all walks of life to sit back and enjoy comfort and service.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 385 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

The place has so much more character and charm than your standard hotel room. The staff was friendly and It is a perfect blend of old and new. They did a great job of preserving the arcitectial details and modernizing the building,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjfishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for the response. We have worked very hard to balance the architectural integrity of the building with modern hotel amenities. We feel that it is extremely important for the history of Senate to breath all while allowing our guest to enjoy 42" flat screen tv's, free WiFi throughout the hotel, in-room Wolfgang Puck coffee, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and great views of the newly renovated State Capitol.

And don't forget, our King Suites have top of the line TempurPedic mattresses; the best in the business all this while still being the same price or lower than the chain hotels.

We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you want to different unique experience on the hotel book for this hotel. It was an apartment complex converted now into a suite hotel gives you great privacy some rooms have multiple TVs. The staff is friendly and accommodating and a good hot continental breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CiincinnatiRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Unique is the perfect word to describe a stay at the Senate Rick. Our hotel is not a typical chain hotel. We have a lot of character inside these walls. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a very pleasant unexpected surprise. This hotel is beautiful, clean, located well in Topeka and the staff is incredibly helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and I will definately use this again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you Julie, we are appreciative of the great review. You mentioned our two most important goals; a clean hotel and great staff. We strive to better ourselves every day and thank you for the great feedback.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A little inflexible on check out time, asked for an hour extension and was denied by man at front desk. Also building is a little old with thin walls so it is easy to hear neighbors above and below you

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for the review. We are sorry that we were not able to accommodate your late check out. We strive to treat all guests equally and make every effort to allow guests to check in at the posted check in time. During very busy times when the hotel is sold out, we do not have as much flexibility to offer late check outs.

We do hope that you enjoyed your stay overall and it seems that you did with your score of 4/5. We hope that you come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice, historical hotel with fairly recent upgrades. Stayed for just one night, 2 adults and 1 child.
Was surprized by how spacious the suite was. Quiet, never heard neighboring rooms. Nice to have a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee machine. Balcony will be great in nicer weather (and some include porch swings).
Front desk staff was excellent, and all staff were very friendly. Wifi is free and complimentary breakfast was excellent. (They were nice to keep it up longer for those of us forgetting about daylight savings!)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family and had enough space. At the Senate, the rooms are not typical "box" room. There is plenty of space to feel relaxed.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely old hotel, and very reasonable prices! I believe we paid $75/night for a two-queen suite that could sleep up to six people if you used the couch bed. The free hot breakfast was great, and it's just a short walk to the capitol building if you have time for sightseeing. The rooms are nice, and it's relatively quiet (except for the copper piping in the bathrooms--on a freezing winter morning, you can hear the pipes rattling when your neighbors are showering/flushing the toilet.) Overall, it was a great place to stay and I would certainly recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank theologynerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the sounds from the piping in the morning but it sounds like we made up for it in other areas. As a matter of fact, we just held a staff meeting yesterday and the staff was discussing all the ways to help us differentiate ourselves from the large franchise hotels. Their focus is on making sure that every guest is personally recognized and made to feel at home while at our hotel. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 33 in Topeka
576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
3.3 mi away
Best Western Topeka Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senate Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senate Luxury Suites

Address: 900 SW Tyler St, Topeka, KS 66612-1624
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Topeka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#8 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range: $94 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senate Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Topeka only 1 block west of the Capital building the Senate Luxury Suites is a historic boutique hotel built in 1928. Originally built as luxury apartments, the hotel underwent renovations in 1991 and again in 2011 to make the most unique hotel in the Topeka area. We offer a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and spacious rooms all with private balconies. We have many different room types including Studios, Full Suites, 2 Bedroom Suites that can sleep 6 people and our luxurious Tempur-Pedic Studios which feature Tempur-Pedic Cloud Supreme mattresses. We have a full fitness center w/ Hot Tub. Our banquet facilities seat up to 200 people and is available to rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Senate Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senate Luxury Hotel Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing