We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - close to Capitol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senate Luxury Suites
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok - close to Capitol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Good value but nothing extraordinary - -$90 a night for a Qn suite. Could use some updating. Elevator stuck on 2nd floor when we arrived so had to use stairs until fixed. Hot breakfast (eggs, waffle maker, bacon, cereal etc). Free wifi worked fine. Older decor. Room was fairly clean but was obvious they hadn't gone around the baseboards for awhile -and dead insect behind the toilet. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank StillLearning261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the review. And thank you for bringing up one of our best selling points; the Queen Full Suite. At $90, these suites come with a guestroom, bathroom, AND a separate living area with couch, chairs, television. On top of that, each has its own kitchenette as well making this one of the best deals in town considering other hotels charge equal or more for just the guestroom.

We do apologize for the elevator issues. Luckily, it was fixed within a couple of hours. I would also like to apologize for the deal insect. This is not something that is customary at the Senate and will be a topic of focus today with the staff.

We look forward to you taking advantage of our great deals in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    131
    35
    14
    17
See reviews for
108
92
25
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
everest, ks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the night when we came to see 'Elvis'. It was a very comfortable hotel. It was quiet and pretty. Being such a historic building, it was a bit 'Stephen King-ish' at times, but room was very comfortable and beds slept well. They had a super free breakfast buffet w/biscuits and gravy, eggs, waffles...etc. Staff was very nice. The only 'bad' thing I can say about this place is that the hot tub had too much chlorine in it. My suit still smells after several washings, and our throats were sore from breathing it in after we got out. Would I use the hot tub again? Yes. I would easily stay here again with no problem.

Room Tip: I was told to lock our doors and not go out after dark tho, due to it being in not such a nice neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bojowag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
The Elvis show was very popular. We are glad that you had a great time at the show and our hotel. I would like to apologize for the chlorine issue. We will be having our maintenance staff checking the levels immediately. Thank you for the kind words on the breakfast. We have a wide option of items for our free breakfast from hot eggs and bacon to healthy options, to grab and go. It should be something for everyone.

Lastly, I am shocked that anyone would tell you to not go outside at dark? We have never had any incidence with our guests feeling threatened while in the hotel or parking lot and crime stats are no different here than on the busy and loud Wanamaker Corridor. We have security cameras places around the inside and outside of the hotel and and even have overnight security staff from a sister hotel patrol the parking lot a couple of times a night.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

There were pro's and cons but pretty much what one would expect.
Pro's- wonderful people at the front counter, clean & well maintained, great historic hotel feel, location very close to St. Francis Hospital
Con's- continental breakfast a little simple, could easily hear outside noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We strive to make sure every guest is well taken care of and are getting quite the TripAdvisor reputation of great service comments. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was in celebration of my wife's birthday and I wanted someplace nice to stay. Being from Topeka, I knew only a little about the Senate and have wanted to stay there for some time. We were quite surprised when asking a little of the history about the Senate. Built in the early 1900's, it still has quite the charm. We were in the suite which had a 4 person hot tub. Awwwww yes! Nice kitchenette, separate living/setting room and full bath. The king bed was fabulous. A terrific evening and look forward to spending an evening in a room with a balcony.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NMFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Happy Birthday to your wife! We are happy that you had an enjoyable time and chose the Senate for your special occasion. The Senate, full of great customer service and old world charm is the perfect place for romantic getaway. Don't forget next time to ask about our Romantic Package. We are also glad you enjoyed the hot tub. Just like you mentioned, this is not a typical corner of room small tub with jets. This is an actual hot tub someone would have at their house.

Come back and see us for your birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at the Senate Suites twice in January. Both times, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The suites are roomy and very clean. The walls are thin, but thankfully my neighbors were only noisy the first night. The view of the capitol at night is beautiful. I will recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smccullers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We truly appreciate the review as well as your patronage. We love hearing great comments about our customer service and cleanliness. We strive to be the best in Topeka. And isn't that Capitol view spectacular?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ness City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Staying at the Senate Luxury Suites is very handy for my meetings in Topeka. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I have stayed in a different suite each of my visits (6-8) and each is unique and functional. Look forward to my next trip and seeing what the next rooms are like!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you. One of the great and unique things about the Senate is that we are not a cookie cutter hotel. Every room is different and like you said, you never know what you are going to see until you open the door. One thing is for sure, the room will be clean, the staff smiling, and breakfast hot. What else could you ask for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Every Christmas on my visit for the Holidays in Topeka there is only one place I want to stay and it is the Senate Suites. This is such a quaint place and the suites are so functional for a long term stay. The staff is always helpful, talkative, and gives you a smile. The continental breakfast is great add.

Rooms are always clean and the view can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Owner at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Happy Holidays! The Senate is the perfect place to relax during the stressful holiday season. Our staff is dedicated to great customer service and we want everyone to feel welcome. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.9 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
0.8 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#1 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#4 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senate Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senate Luxury Suites

Property: Senate Luxury Suites
Address: 900 SW Tyler St, Topeka, KS 66612
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Topeka
#3 Best Value Hotel in Topeka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#8 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senate Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Topeka only 1 block west of the Capital building the Senate Luxury Suites is a historic boutique hotel built in 1928. Originally built as luxury apartments, the hotel underwent renovations in 1991 and again in 2011 to make the most unique hotel in the Topeka area. We offer a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and spacious rooms all with private balconies. We have many different room types including Studios, Full Suites, 2 Bedroom Suites that can sleep 6 people and our luxurious Tempur-Pedic Studios which feature Tempur-Pedic Cloud Supreme mattresses. We have a full fitness center w/ Hot Tub. Our banquet facilities seat up to 200 people and is available to rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senate Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senate Luxury Hotel Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing