We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topeka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senate Luxury Suites
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very impressed with the cleanliness. Entire staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank iacfb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate W, Front Office Manager at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Connie b,

Thank you for leaving your review of your time with us here at The Senate.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to Welcome you again next time you are in Topeka.

Take Care,
Sara Fields
Guests Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Senate Luxury Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 375 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

As other reviewers have said, it is OLD but extremely CLEAN and the bathroom was modern and did I say CLEAN!!! The bed was super comfortable, our French doors looked out at the Capital Building's dome, the entire stay was so different from the routine hotels. The building is a maze and the lovely front desk folks helped us in everyway, very friendly and helpful. There was a feeling of staying at Grandma's house, in the best possible way. LOVE THIS PLACE and would most definitely stay here again. We chose to stay later and sleep in just because the entire experience was so comfortable and sweet.

Room Tip: We had the smallest, least expensive room which was a great value. Can't imagine needing more f...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanB862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very interesting hotel. Apparently it used to be an apartment building and has been renovated into hotel suites. Every room has a bedroom, living room, dining area and balcony. It is not luxurious at all but is very comfortable and convenient to the State Capitol and downtown. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel used to have a bar but I was told that it was closed down because they didn't have enough business to keep it open. So there's no food (except packaged snacks and sodas available at the front desk).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petloverCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Turning an old apartment building into a hotel yields interesting public spaces and architectural details but rooms are very clean and comfortable with new beds and nice bath. Staff are very helpful and friendly. They even got things back out for us when we were late fof breakfast. Only wish would be for a brighter lighting in room.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

When we pulled up to the hotel we started saying how cool looking it was from the outside. Once we got through the check-in, which was quick, easy, and friendly, we were amazed at our suite. I am so tired of "standard" hotels with the same look. This hotel had atmosphere and a very cozy, home-like feel. I have been bragging about it non-stop since staying there and recommending it to all of my friends and family. It is clean and well taken care of and I couldn't have had a better stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is like an apartment.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelDean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The location of this apartment building-turned-hotel is perfect for a Topeka visitor, very close to the capitol building. The exterior does have 1920's charm and the refurbishment is fairly well-done, they had many interesting architectural details to work with. However, the bathrooms are really plain, the caulking not too artful; other snags negating a feeling of "luxury" are stained ceiling tiles in breakfast room, OLD-ish carpeting, the coffeemaker perched on the round breakfast table in an ante room containing a single sleeper sofa and the refridge/microwave not artfully placed, just jutting out into the room. The beds have tempur-pedic mattresses, very nice. The towels were very nice but there were no extra blankets for the thinly dressed bed. The breakfast downstairs in a large, clunky gathering room was only carbs and aspartame-laced yogurt. Coffee was OK. The third floor had a little reading nook with interesting books, cute, and another little room with an ironing board and iron all set up, ready to go. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank transientm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbadenoch, General Manager at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear transientm,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent experience at The Senate Suites. I appreciate the feedback and am taking these comments to heart when making changes to the rooms and the hotel. I agree that our breakfast could use a wider variety and we are in the process of trying to add other options on a daily basis.
Thank you and I hope you stay with us on your next trip to Topeka.

Kindest Regards,

Kate Badenoch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I stayed at the Senate "Luxury" Suite on New Year's eve. Not only did I have to wait 20 minutes before checking in the heater in my room absolutely did not work. When I first arrived there it said the temp in my room on the thermostat was BELOW 60 then I turned up the heat to 80 still did not warm up. I then turned it on FULL BLAST and it warmed my room up to a whole 65 degrees. Don't worry I didn't bother having your "free" breakfast either. You will never have to worry about me checking in again.
Sincerely,

Brian

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icebrian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.9 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 33 in Topeka
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
497 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senate Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senate Luxury Suites

Address: 900 SW Tyler St, Topeka, KS 66612-1624
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Topeka
#3 Best Value Hotel in Topeka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#8 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range: $96 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senate Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Topeka only 1 block west of the Capital building the Senate Luxury Suites is a historic boutique hotel built in 1928. Originally built as luxury apartments, the hotel underwent renovations in 1991 and again in 2011 to make the most unique hotel in the Topeka area. We offer a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and spacious rooms all with private balconies. We have many different room types including Studios, Full Suites, 2 Bedroom Suites that can sleep 6 people and our luxurious Tempur-Pedic Studios which feature Tempur-Pedic Cloud Supreme mattresses. We have a full fitness center w/ Hot Tub. Our banquet facilities seat up to 200 people and is available to rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Senate Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senate Luxury Hotel Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing