We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
302 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Successful Renovation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was a little wary of the hotel because it was on the Point Saver plan, but I figured the price was so good, why not give it a try. It exceeded expectations. Very stylish up to the minute re-do. Lots of lighting and our suite was comfortably large. It appears that Holiday Inn is also changing their cosmetics. The hot tub was both clean and very hot (which doesn't happen often).The man at the desk was very interested in his guests and breakfast was ready promptly and there were no snafus. Location is right near the entrance to the interstate without being on the interstate, in fact its kind of hidden but there are several places to eat very close. I would definitely return here if my travels take me near here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIETopekaWestMgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear hotzim,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! It is exciting to hear that you are pleased with our renovation, staff, breakfast, and location. What a great review - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    43
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
49
27
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
293 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here on our way through Kansas and I was pleasantly surprised!! First of all, the front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful! I was greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome there. The hotel was very clean outside in the parking lot & I felt very confident that my car would be safe, as it was well lit at night. The lobby was clean, warm, & inviting. I love the new decor that HI Express is using now. Our room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside was that our room was on the second floor and directly across from the elevator! You could hear everything & everyone!

Breakfast was basic, but wonderful: pancakes, cinnamon rolls (very fresh!), bread, cereal, oatmeal, sausage links, hard boiled eggs, juice, & coffee. I did wish that they had the little packets of liquid creamer, but the milk worked fine. The lady working the breakfast area was so nice & kept the area so clean, which is always a plus!

Pros: location is great, just off I-70, hotel is clean inside & out, seemed very safe, especially since I was traveling with the kids and hubby wasn't able to come along. Breakfast was nice, super clean, staff were all friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable, and we all slept well.s

Cons: room was directly across from the elevator and you could hear everything! That was my only problem.

We WILL be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvlifeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIETopekaWestMgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear luvlifeandtravel,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.com! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and hotel. We do apologize that you did not enjoy having your room next to the elevator. We would be happy to ensure that your room is not located near the elevator on any future reservations with us. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The property was very clean and comfortable, and the staff very accomodating. More than many properties I stay at either for business or pleasure, they really seemed to want to go out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. The hotel renovations mentioned in other reviews appeared to me to be completed, I had a very nice room (although it was an 'accessible' room) it was better than most I've seen to fit either customer. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable, which is why I picked this location (again, due to other reviews I saw). One of the front desk staff was about half way through a "double shift" due to the last minute family needs of one of his coworkers. As there was a large community event in the area, and I was up rather late one night using the business center computer printer, I could hear him trying to find alternate accomodations for walk in customers and callers who didn't have a reservation at this property. I didn't detect a single negative tone in his voice, truely a gentleman! I saw him toward the end of his shift and he was still in very good shape mentally, very professional. I recommend this Hotel to anyone transiting the area, I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaylaBitler, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
Dear Sue,
Thank you for the awesome feedback! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our wonderful front desk staff. Rafa is a very important part of our team. I am also pleased to hear that you were able to utilize our pool and spa during your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next stop in Topeka. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Sorry that this review is late but this was another hotel that deserves a great review. We stayed with them on April 19th and 20th. And we were very pleased with our stay. The room was really clean, and the staff was very nice.This will be our choice of hotel when we return to Topeka,ks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice relaxing visit. The only bad part was the person above us on the second floor was walking around at 5:00 am and I could here them. I even heard the door slam when they left the room. This usually don't happen at a holiday inn. I experienced the same thing at the Salina location three days ago.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 16dhitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed on the top floor in a well appointed recently renovated room, with nice furnishing and a comfortable bed. We warmed up our leftover pizza for breakfast, so can't comment about breakfast selections.

Pros:
Hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and major highways. Nice selection of channels and great reception on the TV. Rooms very quiet. Internet was good.
Cons:
Construction was still ongoing, in early December, four rooms on the first floor were being renovated and the area smelled of wet paint. The nearby card activated "security" door was broken. The fitness room was being used for storage, so unusable. The desk clerks never smiled or made eye contact.

Tip: Stay when the construction is finished.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here just overnight on a road trip. I really liked the room and furnishing. I would have like to stay longer to enjoy it but had to leave early, before breakfast : ( The breakfast area looked really nice though and the staff was pleasant. After stays at other hotels on this trip I am thinking of switching to only Holiday Inn Express

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#1 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#4 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Topeka Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
Address: 901 SW Robinson Ave., I-70 and Wanamaker, Topeka, KS 66606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka would like to welcome you to the Capital City of Kansas. Located at the crossroads of I-70, US-40, K-4, I-470 & 75 Hwys, our hotel is perfectly situated near all Topeka businesses and attractions. We are only minutes away from the State Capitol, Washburn University, Hummer Sports Park, Kansas Expocentre, Heartland Park Topeka, Forbes Field, and the Topeka Zoo. Businesses near the hotel include SCCA Headquarters, Goodyear, Target Distribution Center, local hospitals Stormont Vail and St. Francis, Resers Fine Foods, and Frito Lay. This hotel is designed with the smart traveler in mind. Our variety of room options offer enhanced space and amenities. Executive King Suites, Double Queen Rooms, and Handicapped Accessible Rooms are all available. We provide free High-Speed Internet (wired or wireless), as well as a business center with Internet access. Our Deluxe Breakfast Bar is stocked with biscuits and gravy, hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit, Smart Roast coffee, bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs, and our own delicious cinnamon rolls. You can swim all year long in our heated indoor pool or relax in the hot tub. Take a walk even on a snowy day on one of our treadmills in the fitness center. Do your laundry on site, or send it out to the dry cleaners. We also offer a conference room for any meeting needs you may have. Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express Topeka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Topeka
Holiday Inn Topeka
Topeka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing