We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Under construction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel would have gotten a higher rating if it wasn"t under construction. It looks like they were building a new breakfast room. I ende up in a jacuzzi suite which was fine but I had no need for the jacuzzi. The room was ok, typical HIE. My room was at one end of the hotel and the wifi signal kept dropping. The best feature was the location at the junction of I70, I470 and US75. There was a Hooters across Wanamaker and lots of fast food and chain restaurants within a two minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistolpjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidomeSales, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Pistoljh, Thank you for noticing all the upgrades we are working on at the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope when coming to the area you wil choose us again and see all the new updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
50
27
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
269 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had a meeting in this general area and chose the hotel for its proximity to the meeting place. The hotel was under renovation, so things were a bit untidy. Hopefully this means that great things are in store. Free continental breakfast was included with the room.

There's a Starbucks one block south of the hotel, so that was a HUGE plus for me.

I would gladly stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were traveling from California back home to Tennessee and stopped at this hotel to overnight. When we drove up we could tell it was a little older but it was neat and clean so that is what matters. When we got to our room we were surprised at how small it was, I mean tiny! In a single row with absolutely no space in between was a bedside table, the bed, another bedside table, and a chair with an ottomon. There was a desk, and a dresser that had seen better days. I like a lot of light in the room, but one of the lamps had a burned out bulb and the other could not be plugged in beside the bed because their Sony iPod doc station's adapter covered both outlets. I turned the TV on and although the power was on there was no picture. We called the front desk and they told us to unplug the TV and it would reset which we did and quickly fixed the problem. After dinner my husband went into the bathroom to take a shower and there was no shower curtain! At this point we both just had to chuckle. We called the front desk and they said they would bring us a shower curtain immediately which they did and hung very quickly and the gentleman who brought it was very apologetic. As far as customer service goes I would give this hotel a five, unfortunately the physical property does not meet the standard of other Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed in. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Linda N,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry some aspects of our hotel were not to your liking, and apologize for the problems you experienced in your room. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our convenient location.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our room was newly remodeled. Very clean, comfortable beds, plenty of space for suitcases, great lighting in the bathroom and bedroom (in fact there were individual reading lights above each side of the bed in addition to the bedside table lights). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whlwtchr68133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
539 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hallway was dark. Wifi and water pressure were poor. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear dnumme,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the facilities of the hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in Topeka where we had reserved a room only to find that the room was not available and may have been unavailable for a long time. After a long flight and drive from MCI we were tired and needed a place to stay. A desk clerk advised us that there was a Holiday Inn Express near the Intersection of 10th and Wanamaker - not far from where we were. In 10 minutes we were at it's front desk talking to a very nice young man named Charles. Yes, he had rooms and in fact had one on the top floor (3rd.) that had just been renovated. We checked it out and found it was very much to our liking, especially under our circumstances. To make a long story short, we stayed there for three nights prior to heading to Kansas City, MO for the weekwend. The design of the room made it seem larger than it is, with two comfortable beds, a large barhroom and windows that open a little to let some outside air in. The situation is this - rooms were being renovated all around us, but the workers did not start work until we finished morning coffee, and were gone prior to our return from dinner. And when we did see them they were friendly and very nice and were a pleasure to be around. This hotel is run by some very capable young people who still understand that they have to work hard to make their customers comfortable.
This hotel is very convenient to almost anything in Topeka, and close to a lot of restaurants, that while not gourmet, are very good and won't break the bank.

Room Tip: Check to see which rooms have been renovated and choose one of those. Try to distance yourself a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brotherdickdca1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Poor Wi-Fi and very high in-room movie prices are the reasons for this low rating.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ManyMilesToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear ManyMilesToGo,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations and apologize for the poor Wi-Fi available during your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27745433
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#1 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#4 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
Address: 901 SW Robinson Ave, I-70 and Wanamaker, Topeka, KS 66606-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka would like to welcome you to the Capital City of Kansas. Located at the crossroads of I-70, US-40, K-4, I-470 & 75 Hwys, our hotel is perfectly situated near all Topeka businesses and attractions. We are only minutes away from the State Capitol, Washburn University, Hummer Sports Park, Kansas Expocentre, Heartland Park Topeka, Forbes Field, and the Topeka Zoo. Businesses near the hotel include SCCA Headquarters, Goodyear, Target Distribution Center, local hospitals Stormont Vail and St. Francis, Resers Fine Foods, and Frito Lay. This hotel is designed with the smart traveler in mind. Our variety of room options offer enhanced space and amenities. Executive King Suites, Double Queen Rooms, and Handicapped Accessible Rooms are all available. We provide free High-Speed Internet (wired or wireless), as well as a business center with Internet access. Our Deluxe Breakfast Bar is stocked with biscuits and gravy, hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit, Smart Roast coffee, bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs, and our own delicious cinnamon rolls. You can swim all year long in our heated indoor pool or relax in the hot tub. Take a walk even on a snowy day on one of our treadmills in the fitness center. Do your laundry on site, or send it out to the dry cleaners. We also offer a conference room for any meeting needs you may have. Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express Topeka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Topeka
Holiday Inn Topeka
Topeka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing