We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids to play and learn”

Kansas Children's Discovery Center
Ranked #6 of 52 things to do in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since opening June 1st, 2011, the Kansas Children's Discovery Center has become a special place where children can explore, create, discover and learn through play. The Discovery Center engages children and families in Serious Fun through hands-on exhibits, camps, daily programs, field trips, birthdays, special events and other exciting learning opportunities throughout the year. The Discovery Center's 15,708 sq. ft. building is nestled within 4.5 wooded acres of Topeka's Gage Park, providing numerous opportunities for outdoor exploration and discovery. Guests of the Discovery Center can learn and play in a safe and fun educational environment.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for kids to play and learn”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Kansas Children's Discovery Center is a wonderful place for kids up to about 9. There are exhibits in one large room, which is great as children can race from one exhibit to the next without losing the parents. There is a baby area as well as a toddler area, a professions area (restaurant, doctor's office, veterinarian, mechanic), hands-on activities explaining mechanics of grain storage, a vacuum tube display where you can put in things like scarves to see them fly, floating ping-pong balls, painting on glass walls, blacklight wall art, and much much more. The outdoor area has balance activities, a huge fort, a bike trail, and a new outdoor water exhibit, among other things.

You'll likely show up budgeting 2 hours for your visit and look at your watch to check the time, only to realize 2 hours have gone by and you haven't done half the things there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    26
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Want to go again”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If i were you and you were choosing to go to this center i would take all of my timr at this place with my children.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Savannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Center, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

There was nothing to not like about this center. The kids had so much fun and it worked for all ages.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited Easter weekend, since the weather was nice and our daughter could play outside. We got an awesome deal with a Groupon. There were quite a few cars in the parking lot, but inside there were so many stations and activities that it didn't seem crowded at all. We all loved it. They had a building station that you can use actual tools to build something with, an art station where you can paint on a clear wall, outdoor pedaling karts, awesome tree house, so many more hands on activities to do and they are adding more outside! The staff was more than friendly and very helpful. As parents, we were impressed. Our 7 year old didn't want to leave. She said her favorite was the pedaling karts. We will be visiting again soon!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank blueyes0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lots of hands on opportunities for children. Easy parking and close to te zoo - playgrounds - pool. Loved the garage area and the painting area. Well monitered and supervised. Outdoor area hasopeded since our last visit - Can't wait!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ginnyfromkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansas Children's Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Kansas Children's Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing