We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee. Friendly staff. A bit slow on the food.”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #11 of 355 Restaurants in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great coffee. Friendly staff. A bit slow on the food.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

As usual, the setup in the store and restaurant are the same. The atmosphere is still very homey, and the furnishings are well kept and clean. The service at this location is wonderful. Especially De, who knows her regulars. Prompt, friendly service. The only problem I have with this location is that the food always seems to take longer to be delivered than most other restaurants I go to.

Ample parking; enough room for multiple RV's. Off the highway and main road, just slightly, with trees to make it feel more peaceful. Bathrooms are clean. Check-out is always fast, and they seat you fast too. Not usually crowded unless it's right after church on Sunday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flourlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    47
    16
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowie
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An off nite hopefully for a usually dependable restaurant”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We walked to the restaurant from our hotel and then both decided to order a favorite breakfast for a light dinner. Our server was pleasant, young and unfortunately had a terrible memory for more than one item at a time. The food was slow in coming and when it arrived, the apple bran muffin was charred, the yogurt was not what we ordered and when I requested wheat toast to replace the indelible muffin, five minutes later I received one piece of white toast with the excuse that he had managed to burn the toast I ordered. The manager came over but did not offer to comp the meal. I asked for fresh muffin to take with me, but when I opened the muffin the next morning, it too was over baked. An unfortunate visit for two tired consumers who wanted something usually dependable to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosadekor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just as you would expect - great food, ample RV parking”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family and I were returning to Texas from a long visit to the northern midwest. Being away for well over a week, my wife had a hankerin' for some good ole' Southern food. We were traveling home in a 39' motorhome, so we needed a place with good parking, too. Enter Cracker Barrel.

This location was very easy to get to, had great parking for the RV, and the service was also good. Top it off with some very tasty sweet tea, and we all left satisfied!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank econometricsquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Country Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Next to Hampton Inn. Good service and predictable food. After driving all day, it was nice to be able to walk over to the restaurant and eat a nice meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank peppygirlGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yawn”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was not impressed. Some love it, but to me it was more like an IHOP.
Not much there for a vegetarian, seems to be focused more on the gift shop. It didn't seem very clean, one trip was enough for me.

Helpful?
Thank BanjoBob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing