We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Customer Service & Clean Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a conference in downtown Topeka. It is a great value, and is conveniently located at the intersection of Wanamaker & 470 for quick access to downtown as well as restaurants & shopping.

The rooms were clean & newly decorated. Guests might want to know in advance that the rooms only have showers - no tubs.

Breakfast at the Sleep Inn was better than most breakfasts typical of two-star chains -- The selection included waffles, fruit, sausage & eggs, yogurt, cereals, muffins and more.

Customer service was excellent. When we arrived, we found that there had been a computer error in our reservation, which we had booked through a third party online. Manager Ed immediately offered us a room upgrade at the price we had paid, and front desk clerk Jennifer was very helpful and friendly. Other staff we encountered were also very courteous & willing to answer any questions we had.

I would definitely stay here again when in Topeka.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you very much for the flattering review! Our whole staff works very hard to insure our guests get a great value from our hotel during their stay. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and please come back again! From our entire staff, Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean. It is off the main street, so quiet at night. It is pet friendly for a $10 fee, which is better than some places. It is close to resturants and shopping. The staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800retire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for staying at our Sleep Inn & Suites and for submitting your review. Your reviews help us to insure that our guests have a positive experience whenever they stay with us. While your review was very positive with no specific complaints, it concerns me that we didn't manage to attain a top rating from you in any category. We try very hard to make our hotel the best it can be for our guests. Specific criticism is well received and we strive to address anything that you may find to be less than satisfactory during your stay. It is very important to us that you feel we provided the best value for your hard earned money. Please don't hesitate to write another review addressing the areas where we didn't earn a top rating. We will work to improve them if possible so that your next stay with us will be completely satisfactory! Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our normal hotel we stay at when we are Topeka was booked to capacity so we took a chance on this hotel and we were glad we did. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint if we had one was that the pool was a little cold and could have been warmer. Again, this is an excellent place to stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will continue to stay at our Sleep Inn & Suites whenever you are in Topeka. Our staff works very hard to insure your stay is comfortable, convenient and relaxing. Your review helps us to make sure everything is just right for you and other guests on future visits! Thank you so much! Come see us again!
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our normal hotel we stay at when we are Topeka was booked to capacity so we took a chance on this hotel and we were glad we did. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint if we had one was that the pool was a little cold and could have been warmer. Again, this is an excellent place to stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We strive to keep our swimming pool at a temperature between 80 and 84 degrees as recommended by the industry for our area. Depending upon the existing atmospheric conditions on any given day that temperature range could feel a bit cool or very comfortable. We will continue to monitor the pool temperature to insure it remains at a safe and comfortable temperature. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. We appreciate your input and hope you will come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stopped in here one night while traveling between Denver and Louisville, KY on Thurs 11/29. Great access to I70, but I never heard it, the room was quiet.

Jennifer checked us in, offered my dad a lower rate than what he booked, which was nice.

We had a 2 queen bed room with shower only. (I prefer the tub/shower combo). The room was clean, and smoke free, however I could still catch whiffs of smoke coming either from other rooms or floors, ? possibly through the ventillation system. I prefer smoke free places, but this was cheaper.

Breakfast was just fine, clean and hot food looked decent, although I only had a banana and cereal and a couple slices of bacon. The bacon was good but fatty (which is why it was good!)

Close to tons of eateries for evening dining options.

This is not a gross kind of Sleep Inn at all. The remodeling has made this a nice & clean place to stay, with reasonable price and also accomodates pets without having to have a huge extra charge.

This will work great for budget minded travelers who need a clean place to rest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKJACKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here passing through on a road trip and it was wonderful! The front desk lady was an absolute joy, the hotel had an elevator which we liked, indoor pool, the room was very clean, updated,comfy and fast internet. The price was around $80 but it was well worth it, not a single complaint. Its in a good location near the interstate and on the same road as alot of good shopping and eating. Will definitely stay here again if we are passing through again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxursoxoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the quiet weekend with restaurants close by. The room was clean and comfortable and we were allowed to take our little dog. It was a quiet weekend with out any interruptions. The pool and spa were nice and clean to relax in. Breakfast was great with the eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, and biscuits & gravy. Was fantastic for our little get away to be alone for the weekend. It is a place we will be remembering for our trips to Topeka and want to spend the night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 33 in Topeka
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
512 reviews
4.2 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker

Address: 1024 SW Wanamaker Rd, Topeka, KS 66604-3807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
Price Range: $87 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sleep Inn facility has undergone a complete top to bottom renovation in the last couple of years, so everything is new, fresh and up to date, right down to the new top of the line Sealy Posturepedic mattresses and 37 inch flat screen TVs! We offer a convenient location at 1024 SW Wanamaker Road, with easy access to I-70 and I 470 and less than a quarter mile from over 50 restaurants, lots of shopping, Security Benefit, Washburn University, Kansas Soybean, Advisors Excel, the Kansas Museum of History, two recreation centers, movie theaters, Gage Park, the Topeka Zoo, Hills Bark Park and more! Our Location is also minutes away from the Capital Building and Downtown Topeka! Our facility features a business center, exercise room, guest laundry, a large indoor heated pool and spa. We have ice machines, vending machines for snacks, sodas and bottled water. Our lobby elevator will take you to the upper levels. We can also help by providing some of those little things you may have forgotten. Our experienced, knowledgeable staff is here to help you in any way we can 24 hours a day! Our guests are treated to a free hot and delicious Morning Medley Breakfast while they catch the morning news on the flat screen TV in our comfortable breakfast area featuring a broad variety of breakfast favorites and of course fresh, hot coffee. We offer comfortable rooms with microwave ovens, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, free high speed Internet and those great 37' TVs. We are Also a pet friendly property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Topeka
Topeka Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing