We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising sub standard Hampton Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Topeka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Topeka
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Surprising sub standard Hampton Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are very frequent Hampton Inn customers, probably in more than 20 states, and we were quite disappointed by this Topeka branch. The room looked similar, the breakfast had the same items, and the lobby was nice BUT..... This is the first time we have ever stayed in a king bedded room for 2 people with only one chair in the room...no club chair, no additional straight back chair, no stool...nothing but one desk chair. When I asked the reception desk person if I might borrow a chair to use in my room to read and use my laptop, the loan of a chair was denied, even though I merely requested to take a small chair upstairs for an hour or two and promised to bring it back downstairs.....also a very unHilton-like attitude. Even though I am a Hilton Honors member for many years, I was surprised again...our room window faced a brick wall 3 feet away and we could not see out at all. This poor treatment, negative fearful attitude on the part of the reception person, and barren room do not reflect well on Hampton Inn as a brand name. I note that this Hilton Inn is rated the number one hotel in Topeka and that may be true for Topeka, but the owner of this property should be ashamed and Hilton embarrassed. We traveled further the next day to another Hampton Inn 4 hours away where I am writing this review.....we have comfortable chairs in our room and a parking lot view where we can see the sky and the weather, not a lot to ask for.

Room Tip: Plan to stay away from your room since you cannot sit down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topekahampton, Manager at Hampton Inn Topeka, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We value and appreciate the time you took to provide us with your feedback. You are right, that was not hamptonality and we deeply apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We will have team huddles to discuss our staff's attitude when presented with a request or challenge; we hope to be given a second change to redeem ourselves. It is with deep regret that the room you stayed in did not have a good view, every hotel has a few rooms that where built under architectural constraints and we hope to have a solution in the future but at the moment there is little we can do to fix that room's window view.

Again, our sincerest apologizes and greatest appreciation for taking the time to write us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    114
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
133
68
26
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osseo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just what I would expect from a newer Hampton. I love the duvet covers that are cleaned for each new guest. The HD TV had great reception, wireless a tad slow, but I was streaming a program that I had missed on the trip. Great breakfast with lots of choices. The attendant at the front desk kept me laughing as I waited for my husband to return from the car. The price was higher than some other brand hotels, but inexpensive for a Hampton. We will return.

Room Tip: A word of caution. This hotel is very near the highway. If you are bothered by interstate noise re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Fiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a downtown meeting. Right off I-470 and close to restaurants. Only a few minutes from downtown. Courteous staff. Room was clean and pretty standard for a Hampton Inn. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had trouble finding this hotel. While it sits by the interstate, it is not easy to get to. The staff was very friendly, the room clean and the breakfast typical of Hampton Inns. I can't think of anything to say negatively about the hotel. If you want a clean, comfortable, friendly place to spend the night, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OtherJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topekahampton, Manager at Hampton Inn Topeka, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey for our hotel. We appreciate your warm comments and understand that your star rating mainly reflects our location. It is regretable that we were unable to get a location on wanamaker road, however our location does provide better parking lot security compared to other properties due to our location. We hope to see you again soon in the near future!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Every time we came into the lobby area we were acknowledged with some greeting. Made you feel welcome and cared for. The breakfast staff was very efficent and seemed in good spirits. This was are first time at a Hampton Inn and were very impressed. We stayed at another Hampton on Sunday night due to the great experience at this one. The other one we stayed at was average but not anywhere near as good as this one. All Hampton Inns need to be like this one. Room and clean and quite. Pool was clean, clear and well taken care of .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amajsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topekahampton, Manager at Hampton Inn Topeka, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are delighted that our warm spirits are being noticed! Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and share with us your experience while lodging with us. We will continue to improve in any aspects that we can and look forward to your future stays!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over the weekend for daughters volleyball tournament. Full of parents and kids but staff did a great job taking care of everyone. Nice indoor pool. Hotel is in great shape. Rooms and beds were good as well. Right off of the loop w lots of places to eat nearby. Breakfast was average Hampton fare. No cons very happy w our stay. I would recommend to others. Well kept hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwestbiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topekahampton, Manager at Hampton Inn Topeka, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review, we greatly apprecaite our guest feedback and value their thoughts and input. This past weekend was wonderful and the volleyball teams we had were a delight! We are glad to have met your expectations and hope we continue to do so in your next visit!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A warm and friendly staff and hotel on a typical dismal cold Kansas winter night.
Easy check-in and check-out with pleasant and comfortable rooms.
Good eating establishments nearby and some just across the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasSkyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topekahampton, Manager at Hampton Inn Topeka, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review! We hope you get to stay with us during warmer times but are glad to read that the cold weather didn't affect your stay in Topeka. We greatly appreciate the warm comments and look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.9 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#4 of 33 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
4.1 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#5 of 33 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Topeka
Fairfield Inn Topeka
#13 of 33 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Topeka

Property: Hampton Inn Topeka
Address: 1515 SW Arrowhead Rd, Topeka, KS 66604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Topeka
#3 Business Hotel in Topeka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Topeka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Momentous history in a friendly atmosphere...welcome to the Hampton Inn Topeka. Get a sense of major history, cultural awareness and a spirit of adventure when you visit Topeka, the Kansas state capital. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Topeka is located within walking distance of the Westridge Shopping Mall and the Topeka public golf course, and only about five minutes from the state capitol. Explore the Kansas State Capitol, including a 296-step tour of the Capitol Dome, and displays of Kansas history presented through murals and a sculpture. Our hotel in Topeka is also close to the Kansas Museum of History featuring pioneer artifacts. Get a sense of momentous history at the Brown v. Board National Historic Site & Museum, or explore a complete pioneer village at Old Prairie Town at Historic Ward-Meade Park. Catch a show at the Topeka Performing Arts Center, or speed things up at the Heartland Park Raceway. Get more tips on the local sights from the friendly team at our Topeka hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Topeka Hotel Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing