We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not so good today” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowhouse Restaurant

Rowhouse Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 345 Restaurants in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so good today”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Have loved the Rowhouse, but tonight was a bummer. The menu was not Chef Greg's, and obviously so. The very arrogant, full-of-himself waiter said the 2 chef's who came up with the menu had been in Nashville (or somewhere) visiting 17 restaurants in 3 days. We weren't impressed. Pears for the appetizer and for dessert. Soup was excellent. The beef entree was underwhelming and the salmon was, well....a chunk of frozen salmon, unadorned, baked in the oven at home would have been better. One of the desserts was some hard, cold caramel stuck to the little paper cup it came in. The waiter had an air of self-importance, and was challenging and defensive at times. It's always to celebrate a special occasion that we go to Rowhouse - this was very disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    22
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Prairie Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We live in North Carolina and have a vaction home in Colorado. Occasionally we drive and have found few noteworthy dining options along the very long I70 corridor in Kansas. Our Rowhouse is experience is the only meal in that area that was really memorable, and it's the only restaurant we would make a point of returning to if open. The problem is that it's only open evenings Wednesday through Saturday. Certainly excellent by local standards and pushing excellent for just about any area of the country. Inventive cooking with fresh local ingredients and excellent service. More expensive than a mid-range chain restaurant but very much in line with what one would expect to pay for this quality. In fact, our meal was substantially less that one would expect to pay for a comparable meal in one of the larger cities on either coast.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancheviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Elegant and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was a surprise to find this treasure in Topeka. In the basement of a row house is an elegany gourmet treat. Suggest you make reservations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited this fabulous restaurant for the first time and were VERY impressed! We were greeted at the door by the owner and invited by the hostess to have a seat at the "bar" to wait for a table to open up. After a short wait (we didn't have reservations) we were seated nearby. This is a "tasting" restaurant; you get a little of everything on the menu. This is not the place to go if you want gigantic portions (a,k.a national chains) but oh my goodness the food was out of this world!! The service was outstanding - we even got a tour of the place while we were in between courses. The menu changes weekly...we will very definitely be back!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BUT DAD! I'M STILL HUNGRY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Yes, folks, it is an upscale restaurant in Topeka, Kansas. For the prairies, it's very good indeed. The owner is a friendly, personable fellow. I've been here four or five times, and I'll gladly visit again.

However, the portions are more for quality (quite good but not astounding) and presentation (very nice). One doesn't leave, despite the price, with a Thanksgiving meal feel of being stuffed to the gills. I suppose that's good, considering that too many Americans eat too much. However, an ex-college football player will eat his Rowhouse gourmet meal, prior to stopping by the McDonald's drive through before going home. Most of the mini-courses are very "mini". A 110-pound female will probably feel that the amount is entirely sufficient. Most men could easily pack away a few more ounces of everything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing