We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding quality food; expensive but a nice evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowhouse Restaurant

Rowhouse Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 342 Restaurants in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality food; expensive but a nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Rowhouse Restaurant has a unique niche... the chef prepares his selected salad, appetizer, several entrees, and a desert for the evening, and for a set price ($37 per person when we were there) the guest gets a sampler size of each. Wine is extra but does compliment the meal. The food is of high quality and tastes wonderful. It is too expensive to be a regular outing but about once a year it will be a nice place to have a great meal. Probably best for adults and teenagers and not younger children. Reservations are strongly recommended. I would recommend this restaurant regardless of the location, but in the Topeka area, it is definitely a culinary "breath of fresh air."

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank n0uzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    21
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Portions are very small and service is questionable. Not overly impressed with the quality for the price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TornadoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I just recently visited Rowhouse for the first time, and we were very pleased with it. It's too pricey for us to go there on a regular basis, but it's worth it for the occasional treat.

We did have to sit quite close to a large party so at times it was loud and difficult for us to avoid overhearing everything happening at their table, but we still enjoyed a leisurely meal.

We tried the chef's sampling so we were able to taste each of the entrees and desserts, and I would recommend that to anyone who doesn't get the opportunity to go to upscale restaurants like this on a regular basis.

We're looking forward to our next night out at Rowhouse!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenrezac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere is interesting, but too quiet for a casual dinner with a colleague. Linen table clothes and napkins. Dinner was $60 a plate with 1 drink and tip, not bad for the food but double what I expected based on other reviews and the area. Worth a trip if you're looking for a romantic dinner.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billikenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“YUMMO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Thank you Rowhouse for giving Topeka something special. We look forward to your ever changing, delicious menu. Everyweek, I check to see what new goodies await! You cannot go wrong with your order.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaugh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing