We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“YUMMO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowhouse Restaurant

Rowhouse Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 342 Restaurants in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“YUMMO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Thank you Rowhouse for giving Topeka something special. We look forward to your ever changing, delicious menu. Everyweek, I check to see what new goodies await! You cannot go wrong with your order.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaugh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    21
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holton, Kansas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“food connoiseurs delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

You will not have a better tasting of food, anywhere.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“It's all great, the food, the atmosphere and the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

What a special restaurant! It not just a place to have dinner, it is an experience. Love it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KAnnB_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We are too good for you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The setting is very cool. A row house turned into a restaurant in two floors. The tables are too close and at times do not allow a private conversation without being overheard. Food is good but not as good as the waiters and the chef think! Wine service was a disaster especially when I asked for a decanter. I got served my wine in a pitcher! They do not allow you to bring your wine. Wine selection is not very extensive but wine by the glass is cheap, good wine that is selected very properly. Overal service is poor and it seems as if they are always short in the number of the servers. Food is above average and usually well executed but I have had overly salted meat and deserts there.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jehangard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Rowhouse Has Fresh, Flavorful Food and Fantastic Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I have eaten at the Rowhouse several times over the past few years. Each time we have gone, the service and food have been fantastic. While the servings are much smaller than what you get at chain restaurants, we still leave feeling full (but not stuffed) after enjoying several courses. We love how fresh and flavorful the food is at the Rowhouse. The chef, Greg Fox, changes the menu every week (or every other week) and always seems to have something delicious on the menu. You can see what is on the menu each week by going to the restaurant's website. Be sure to call ahead for reservations, as the restaurant is small. We usually eat there for our anniversary, and go there with co-workers during the holidays. It is pricier than other restaurants in Topeka, but it is a nice change of pace from the chain restaurants on Wanamaker.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tsflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing