We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tupelo
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The employees were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean and my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calculady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tupelo, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Good afternoon! I'm Chad, the General Manager of the Tupelo Hampton Inn. I wanted to thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. I'm glad to hear you had a great time with us and I hope you'll come and see us again. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    122
    56
    25
    11
See reviews for
127
95
24
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed 2 nights while visiting family in Tupelo. Each staff member we encountered spoke to us and all were very helpful.
The room was clean, quiet and we all thought the beds were comfortable. Our room was on in the second floor of the newer section with interior access. There are older exterior access rooms also but we didn't stay in that section.
Our room had 2 queen beds, a small desk, 2 chairs, microwave, and refrigerator, flat screen TV, free wireless internet, free parking.
The free breakfast was pretty good - eggs, home fry potatoes, waffles, fruit, yogurt, bagels and cereals and coffee and juices.
Our kids were a little disappointed about the outdoor pool. It is small but once they were in it and playing the size didn't bother them at all.
The workout area is small - 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, and 1 bike, butI had it all to myself the times I was there.
Overall, we were well pleased and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gldfromtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tupelo, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Good afternoon! My name is Chad Larson and I am the General Manager of the Tupelo Hampton Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed on a Friday night in the external door rooms and felt perfectly safe, so I don't quite understand others comments re the area or security. However the rooms were old style motel layout, with sink at back of bedroom area, and a tiny bathroom with just w/c and bath shower. Room was pretty small too, not really up to normal Hampton standards. It's ok, but nothing more. Also if you miss the badly signposted turning into the hotel when its on the opposite side of the road and the adjacent turning off that road, you've got about a 5 mile drive to get back to it if you're lucky.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stay in Hilton Family hotels any time I can. Usually their standards are high. This was not the case with the Tupelo Hampton. The quality of the hotel degraded quickly as the weekend wore on. Friday, when we checked in, the staff was well trained and attentive. As we moved into Saturday, it seemed the "weekend crew" took over. Our room was not cleaned at all on Saturday and wasn't cleaned until 4:30pm Sunday. (We weren't in our room almost all day, both days.) The trash was falling out of the top of our waste basket. I asked management about cleaning our room both days and their only answer was, "a lot of people called in sick." Unaccectable. Could have stayed in a similar hotel on either side for much less money. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmille711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We were walk-ins after leaving another hotel because of unacceptable rooms and rude clerk. At Hampton Inn, we were greeted cordially and professionally, given a great rate, put in a building with inside rooms as opposed to the main building which has doors on the outside. (Was glad, feel safer inside halls.) Room was lovely and clean, lots of thick towels, standard comfy Hampton Inn bed and coverings, nice furnishings and clean, pretty carpet, great Wifi, soothing view of trees out window. Had a nice pool at main buidling, we watched rain falling on it as we ate a great breakfast the next morning that included waffle station and really yummy ready-made omelets. The staff was amazing, desk folks to the breakfast attendant, everything was homey, warm and welcoming. My kind of stay, low on drama, big on class and satisfied customers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

This Hampton Inn has interior hallway entrance rooms (newer section, I think) and the ol' drive up exterior door rooms. We stayed in those with interior hallways.

We've been to Tupelo a few occasions and if you miss the turn-in to the hotel (which is actually for the hotel next door and then you have to drive down), then it might take you bit to find a good place to turn around (further down McCullough the highway splits into another highway with its own loops/exits and then to a residential street). For those familiar with the area, this probably isn't an issue.

The staff we saw was friendly and our room was tidy. I believe breakfast was served down in the lobby, but we opted for the Waffle House down the street (which I would recommend you avoid.... Between the two of us we had scrambled eggs that were raw in spots, a soggy waffle even before the syrup, greasy bacon, and they serve hydrogenated soybean oil in their food rather than butter....even McD's serves butter).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

The hotel is really nothing special. We spent $88 for a night at a Motel Six caliber Hampton. I am generally a big fan of the brand, but this is far from one of their finer locations.

The location seems seedy at night. I could be totally wrong but we wouldn't go out after dark and were very glad we got a room with interior corridors. The exterior rooms would have me really nervous.

Our room (#151) is fine, 2 queen beds. TV is old with mediocre picture quality. Lighting in the room is adequate but not great. The bathroom sink is cracked and the bathtub/shower is run down.

Check-in was fine, but the reception was cool and the young lady at the front desk had no ideas for a dinner spot - she couldn't even name any spots to avoid.

After we ate at a Mexican place we drove past (Cancun - very yummy), we drove through the Tupelo business district and saw our other choice, the Hilton Garden Inn. It is so much nicer than this Hampton they are not even in the same league. It's hard to believe they're only $10 difference in price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keatingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tupelo hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tupelo
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tupelo
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 26 in Tupelo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tupelo Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tupelo North
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tupelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Tupelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tupelo

Property: Red Roof Inn Tupelo
Address: 1516 McCullough Blvd, Tupelo, MS 38804-1859 (Formerly Hampton Inn Tupelo)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tupelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tupelo
#5 Family Hotel in Tupelo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tupelo
#7 Business Hotel in Tupelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Tupelo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Roof Inn Tupelo, located in Tupelo, Mississippi, most famous as being the birthplace of Elvis. Explore our nation's Civil War history at Brice's Cross Road and Tupelo National Battlefield. Hike the Natchez Trace or visit the Tupelo Automobile Museum. Our Guests enjoy our outdoor pool, continental breakfast and free WiFi and flat-screen TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tupelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tupelo Hotel Tupelo
Tupelo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing