We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tupelo
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We syayed in 4 different Holiday Inn Express hotels on our recent road trip, and this was the worst by far. This should not have been the case, as it should have had a lot going for it.

The location is very good, easy to find, quiet and with lots of restaurants nearby. It was the service that let it down. It was very quiet while we were there and the staff seemed to be taking it easy. When I asked why the hotel was so empty, they said that it relies on workers staying here during the week.

The room itself was fine, clean, very spacious and well appointed. We asked at Reception where to go for lunch. She directed us to the Mall, a few miles up the road, but when we got there it was closed. It was Easter Sunday, but local knowledge should have avoided this.

We wanted to use the safe deposit boxes for our valuables. These were located at reception but it took quite an effort to find them under piles of boxes and other items, and then she did not know how to operate them.

At the other hotels, they had hot drinks available during the day, for you to help yourself. Here they had the flasks on display, but no milk or creamer at all. Breakfast was also disappointing. There was a very minimum of each item on offer, fair enough if there were not many guests, but the fruit, bananas, were well past their best and should have been thrown away.

I did fill in the comments form on the Holiday Inn website, but their reply was offhand and I did not feel they had taken my comments seriously.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tupelo, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear JodiLincoln,

Thank you for your review of your stay via Tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear our staff services did not meet your expectations. We will review with the staff to avoid similar situations in the future. Please accept my apology on this issue. We hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    50
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
38
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Enjoyed our overnight visit to this newer hotel. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and modern. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Spent one night on our trip from Chicago to gulf breeze Fl. Very nice freshly remodeled property, i thought it was a brand new building. Located off US 45 and not far from 78 close to many restaurants and stores, but far enough off the road to be quite quiet. Very nice large rooms with Flat screen,Wireless, fridge, etc, managed by a helpful friendly staff. Breakfast, typical HIE, great coffee. Great value this time of year and we will stop here again on our next Florida trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 220ord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed one night and found this hotel to be very clean and comfortable. The staff were all very nice and our room was clean and on the 1st floor like I had requested. Our only experience was that at about 11:30 the fire alarm went off and woke everyone up and there was some confusion as to whether there was a real fire or not. It took about 30 minutes to get back to our room and I felt they weren't as organized as they could have been in this situation. Then just as we were beginning to fall asleep the fire alarm goes off again. However, this was because of their resetting the alarm apparently. Anyway, I wasn't too impressed with their ability to handle all the people staying in the hotel that night but I guess the staff is pretty minimal at that time. I would stay here again though as the rooms were nice and clean and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff are friendly and polite, and the hotel is quite clean. My husband was here on an extended business trip, so he stayed 6 weeks in the suite. The king bed was amazingly comfortable, I wish I could take it home with me. Breakfast was nice every morning, hot eggs, sausage or bacon, omelets, waffles, selection of baked goods, yogurt and oatmeal. They are located right behind Vanellis, a great place to have dinner. The only downfall is that we missed the hotel initially, the hotel is off the road behind the restaurant and another hotel, so it was a bit hard to spot. I did like that it was off the road though, so no sounds of traffic.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonybrook78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed at this HIEx going to and coming from Branson, MO. Positives include VERY comfortable king bed, totally non-smoking/no pets hotel, friendly/helpful staff, refrig and microwave in room, and good location. We also got a very good discount using Priceline. The first night was a bit noisy because we were in the last room on the hall, next to the stairs, and the door going outside. The people in the room next to ours and across the hall were traveling together and continually went from one room to the other for about 3 hrs and let their doors slam shut with each entry/exit. Those using the stairwell and outside doors let those doors slam all evening and the next morning, too. We also heard a lot of talking in the hall. On our return trip, we asked for an upstairs room away from the stairwell and elevator and had a much more peaceful evening.

The breakfast gravy tasted a bit weird, but there was a fairly good selection of others items to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs and elevator and on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired-luvnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed one night with my wife on our "Elvis Tour" vacation. Very clean,quiet and professional staff. If I was blind and was taken to this hotel, I could tell, I was in an Holiday Inn!
The road to the property was hard to spot and missed it a couple of times.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greydog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tupelo hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tupelo North
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tupelo Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tupelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tupelo
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tupelo/Barnes Crossing
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tupelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tupelo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tupelo
Address: 1612 McClure Cove, Tupelo, MS 38804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tupelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tupelo
#6 Business Hotel in Tupelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tupelo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tupelo! This 100% smoke-free facility is located in the heart of Tupelo's bustling North Gloster area, just minutes from the BancorpSouth Arena, the Tupelo Furniture Market, the Lyric Theater, and many other entertainment venues. The hotel is also only 1 hour from Oxford and Ole Miss. Dining choices also abound, with Outback Steakhouse within walking distance, and dozens of other restaurants such as Harvey s, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, and Cracker Barrel nearby. Also nearby is historic downtown Tupelo, which is home to the BancorpSouth Conference Center, the new Fairpark Grill and Park Heights restaurants, the Tupelo Automobile Museum, and the birthplace of Elvis Presley. Each oversize room and suite is elegantly decorated, featuring the Simply Smart bath and bedding experiences, a 32' LCD HDTV, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, as well as both wired and wireless Internet access. In the morning, you can enjoy a hot cinnamon roll or cheddar cheese omelet from the Express Start breakfast bar. Unbeatable value and a warm friendly staff with all the comfort and hospitality you expect from Holiday Inn Express are just a few of the reasons why our guests love staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tupelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tupelo Hotel Tupelo
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tupelo
Holiday Inn Tupelo
Holiday Inn Express Tupelo
Tupelo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing