We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elvis Birthday 1-8-14”

Elvis Presley Birthplace & Museum
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$185.00*
and up
Elvis Presley Birthplace Park in Tupelo with Transport from Memphis
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Tupelo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum showing objects from Elvis' childhood.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
360 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Elvis Birthday 1-8-14”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stopped by for the opportunity to pay our respects on the King's birthday. Should have guessed there'd be a tour bus load of folks and plus the parking lot was full of cars. Snack truck set up in the parking lot selling hot chocolate and food items. Lots of people. Party going on inside at the theater area. Not quite sure, but I think they had cake, etc. Glad that after all these many years, people still turn out for Elvis. It was cold outside like about 30+. The fountain was quite frozen with just a few jets still making a spray. I'll post the pictures. Fun trip for us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaded-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    364
    138
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, Tennessee
1 review
“Awesome place to visit.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have enjoyed my visits to the birthplace, with my dad. I also like exsperiancing new things there. Rachel Motley

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank purplerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Liked it alot”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Took my parents here a few days after we did Graceland on our way to Chattanooga. It takes about an hour and a half or so to do if you do everything. We opted for the "grande" ticket, which let us in Elvis' birth home & the church he attended, plus the small Elvis museum. The museum was interesting, learned some things we did not know about Elvis' parents, they really care about Elvis in Tupelo and it shows with the well kept exhibits and grounds.

When we entered Elvis' birth home, there was a very nice lady inside who told us all about the small home and my mother had a nice conversation with her about days past.

We didn't know what to expect inside the church.. a nice lady took us over to it, opened it up and got behind the pulpit.. we thought she was going to give us a sermon or something, haha. But then these huge screens come down on three sides of the church and you are treated to a really well done multimedia presentation of what it was like for Elvis when he attended the services there as a boy. Each way you turned your head you saw a different view. It was very musical in nature, my parents were singing along to these old gospel tunes, we loved it. It lasted about 20 minutes or so.

There is also another modern chapel on the grounds that was very nice inside, I assume for weddings.. very nice stained glass windows.

The gift shop is also extensive and reasonably priced.

We're glad we stopped by.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LostChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We are from PA and went to Memphis to see Graceland decorated for Christmas. Tupelo is just an hour and a half drive, so we took the opportunity to visit while we were so close. Admission was $15 for an adult and $6 for our 11 year old. With this admission, we saw the house, the church, the chapel, the museum, and a movie on Elvis' early years. The grounds has a young Elvis statue, a replica of the car used to get them to Memphis, and a Fountain of Life memorial. Everything is in close proximity; there is not a lot of walking. Really did not know what to expect, but we really enjoyed it - as any Elvis fan would.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PR41799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elvis at home”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Elvis Presley became the world's biggest star after a beginning in a poor section of a small Mississippi town. His small home shows his life before stardom and provides a vivid contrast to the amazingly tacky Graceland in Memphis. Both extremes should be seen by any fan of Elvis' to truly evaluate how he became the King of Rock and Roll. The church helps illustrate the influence of religion on his life and music. (Surprisingly his only Grammys came in the Sacred Music genre.) The museum contains memorabilia from his early years. It's definitely worth the visit to Tupelo, MS.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mississippimaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elvis Presley Birthplace & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Elvis Presley Birthplace & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing