We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not the best”
Review of Econo Lodge Tupelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Tupelo
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A group of 12 men stayed at the Jameson in Tupelo on Friday night, November 4th. The Inn is clean, and the property is well kept. However, on the night we stayed, a rock-band tour bus was parked next to our room, and the bus engine ran all night, which was annoying. This Jameson is in an older building with outside entrances. The heat/air unit did not have a setting to allow the fan to run continually, so the unit cycled on and off all night. The road noise from the highway was also evident all night. The pillows were much too hard, and there was not a choice of softer pillows. The bed was great. The continental breakfast was good. Having stayed in the Jameson in Alcoa, TN recently, which was excellent, this Jameson was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the same building as the continental breakfast, or you will have to go outside to cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night. The location was maked with signed leaving the Highway. Its not directly off the exit, but two turns (about 1.0 mile). Fairly new building, pleasant staff at check-in. They even recommended a non-chain restaurant for dinner. Plenty of parking on site. It is located in a newer part of town with many new box stores, gas stations, and fast food restaurants. Room size was good.
We only had two problems during out stay which we addressed at checkout and I am sure they were looked into. The toilet would continue to "run" on and off all night long to which we just closed the door and the noise was reduced. Also the smoke alarm battery decided to die at 3am. The beeping noise was too much to bear afte a while so we removed the battery as per the suggestion of the front desk staff. All in all it was a good stay for the price paid on hotwire.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesoninnTupelo, General Manager at Econo Lodge Tupelo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor. I am glad your stay with us was pleasant one. We pride our selves on having the most friendliest and helpful staff. Just want to let you know that the minor issues you brought to our attention has been addressed. Once again thanks for taking the time to post a response on trip advisor.

General Manager
Angie Gunnells

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is the worst hotel room that I've stayed at in a very, very long time. Purchased through Expedia for $52 per night (Hotwire type purchase). Room key-card reader didn't work, spiders/insects in the room, no maid service, air conditioning condensation leaked onto the carpet, etc.

If you have the choice to stay here...don't.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phred84044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel was the most disgusting place I've ever stayed. It is comperable to a 20 or 30 dollar hotel room, but it cost 100 dollars! Fleas and fruit flies everywhere, my feet were black after walking on the carpet, nasty smell, trash in the room from previous guests... and on and on and on. Do not waste your money unless you want to be covered in fleas the next morning. To top it off, management did not call me back after I complained. Just awful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Room was nice except for the spider & webs in the corner of the room & bathroom. Light fixtures really need to be cleaned due to dead bugs in them. Very nice pillows, bed was comfortable. TV with input ports would have been nice to allow use of PS3, DVD player... Pool was OK, would be great with a good cleaning & shock treatment. Gym was better than expected until I realized the universal machine was broken. Reported in AM of day 2, still not repaired on day 6. Breakfast was the best surprise. Plenty of choices with waffles, cereal, biscuits & gravy (biscuits were little dry but anyway), muffins…coffee, juice, and milk were plentiful. Overall OK but NOT WORTH the price and I got a discount.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snipe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Not quite up to the standard of other Jameson I've stayed in, but still OK. Location is out of the way, and I prefer interior hallways at this price level. But overall, it's fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybeeBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My husband and I were traveling home from Missouri to LaGrange Georgia and the weather turned bad so were stopped for the night at the Jameson Inn in Tupelo Mississippi. We first stopped at two other motels which were full but kept us waiting for 15 minutes before they told us. We were tired and wanted to rest somewhere. Ernest Rosendall was at the front desk when we reached the Jamison and he was friendly and worked very efficiently to find us a room and get us checked in quickly. He informed us of the breakfast buffett which he said was not just the average breakfast buffet because there would be much to choose from. We did indeed enjoy the breakfast buffet and we enjoyed meeting the Manager, Paula Cotton, who was working to keep the breakfast bar neat and replinished. She was also very friendly and helpful. All in all I would rate our stay at the Jameson in Tupelo an A+.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tupelo hotels
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tupelo
Red Roof Inn Tupelo
#6 of 26 in Tupelo
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tupelo Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#15 of 26 in Tupelo
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tupelo
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 26 in Tupelo
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tupelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Tupelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Tupelo

Address: 879 Mississippi Dr, Tupelo, MS 38804-0934 (Formerly Jameson Inn Tupelo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tupelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Price Range: $60 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Tupelo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Tupelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Tupelo Hotel Tupelo
Tupelo Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing