We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kyoto: Tupelo, MS”

Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar
Ranked #101 of 202 Restaurants in Tupelo
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kyoto: Tupelo, MS”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had a business dinner here and I liked the restaurant. We decided to sit at a table and not do a hibachi style meal. The soup was delicious but the salad had too much dressing. I purchased the hibachi style chicken and vegetables and it was really delicious.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnathon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mooreville, Mississippi, United States
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Untrained waitstaff will do you in”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We don't shop for the "Early Bird Special," but this one looked really good in the menu. At $15, it wasn't especially cheap, but since it included a full meal we went for it.
The tea was included, so when we got a little pot of tea, that was what was normal for an oriental restaurant. Soup and little iceburg salad was fine. Then the main course of steak, chicken, veggies, and rice was delivered. That was a good meal.
Oh, the menu did say shrimp appetizer. What about this? Well, there were three little shrimpies on the plate with the dinner. It would have been better for Kyoto if they didn't mention appetizer at all. So lame.
Then the bill came and to my suprise the tea was an extra cost of a few bucks more. But it's part of the deal, I say. No, the young waitress says, "You got a whole pot, not just one cup." I say, "Who just drinks one little three ounce cup of hot tea?" She says she cannot help it, but that's the deal.
This is where most waiters would call for a manager for help. Not here. I paid and left...for good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Japanes food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very good food and great service. My second most favorite place to eat Japanese food in Tupelo. Here again, the shrimp and steak are my fovorites.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wheeler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, MS
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hibachi”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Your normal Hibachi restaurant - -Food is good -Its high priced of course. Fun and entertaining. Mt. Fugi has surpassed them with guality of food though

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScribFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi, average hibachi”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Expected much more based on other hibachi restaurants we are accustomed to. The "pink" sauce that we were expecting was more orange and not the taste we expected. The Spicy Shrimp sushi was very good! Overall, nothing special and left disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flipsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing