We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brunch in Tupelo!”

The Forklift Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 230 Restaurants in Tupelo
Price range: $8 - $30
Description: Chef David Leathers is coming back to his roots, Mississippi. Leathers was raised in a barbecue restaurant, surrounded by the sizzle and smells of southern cuisine. To him, it makes little sense that any kitchen he runs would plate anything else. "I’m talking Southern food, something familiar, and doing fun and creative things with it." The restaurant features reclaimed wood and polished metals. Leathers, a bourbon connoisseur in his own rights, has developed one of the most extensive bourbon and whiskey menus in Mississippi with over 110 options.
Restaurant details
Description: Chef David Leathers is coming back to his roots, Mississippi. Leathers was raised in a barbecue restaurant, surrounded by the sizzle and smells of southern cuisine. To him, it makes little sense that any kitchen he runs would plate anything else. "I’m talking Southern food, something familiar, and doing fun and creative things with it." The restaurant features reclaimed wood and polished metals. Leathers, a bourbon connoisseur in his own rights, has developed one of the most extensive bourbon and whiskey menus in Mississippi with over 110 options.
Reviewed January 24, 2019

My husband and I had brunch a couple of Saturdays ago at Forklift. I was absolutely delicious. Actually the best brunch we have had in all the restaurants we have tried. Locally and in our travels. Not only was the food delicious, the portions are HUGE! We took home the leftovers and had 2 more meals each. Even their drinks are made with fresh ingredients. If you haven't tried it do it soon!! We had the banana nut French toast and the smothered porkchops. We also had the mini biscuits with homemade jam for appetizer. Took some of them home also. Service was also exceptional.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heavyhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 38 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2018

While Forklift may have changed chefs and ownership, it has not sacrificed the quality of its service or food. We had an excellent meal and enjoyed the live music. Short ribs literally were falling off the bone and were seasoned perfectly. My husband's steak was cooked as ordered and was quickly gone from his plate. Ken provided attentive and personal service. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YogaMom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

Had dinner for the first time here tonight. Interesting, diverse menu - not overwhelming with dozens of choices, but with what appears to be a carefully curated group. We had the trout and a veggie plate. Trout was delicious, finished every bite. Veggie plate was good - the pimento Mac n’Cheese is creamy and a little different. Candied carrots were tasty, and while the flavor of the greens was wonderful, the greens were full of stems. We cook fresh greens at home, so are aware that it is a labor of love, but we stem ours and it is worth the extra time and effort to do so. McKinna looked after us and she was delightful, efficient and friendly. The building is lovely - we sat outside by the fire pit and it was perfect. Only downside...there is apparently something wrong or pending with their liquor license so they are only able to serve beer and some spritzers...bummer, because we had our hearts set on martinis and a nice glass of wine with dinner. Hopefully they will get this problem resolved quickly as I doubt we are the only folks who probably won’t return until it is fixed.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SouthernCooks5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

This is my new favorite dining establishment in Tupelo!
Décor was urban/rustic mix
Server friendly and responsive, great service
Huge portions
Wedge salad was good
Tabouleh salad with salmon was very good, large serving

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dubnerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Always love checking this little spot out while traveling through Tupelo. I’ve had several different things on the menu and they’re all AMAZING! Always sit at the bar and the bartenders are always so nice and friendly. Check this place out! You won’t be disappointed!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank bsharpe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forklift Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Forklift Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing