We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business travelers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for business travelers.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and amenities for business travelers. Attentive staff. Easy walk to restaurants, historical sites and federal courthouse. A special tip of the cap to Guest Service Manager, Jennifer Pena.
WH, San Diego

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    648
    233
    86
    61
See reviews for
254
667
153
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I were going to a Boston Bruins game and got a good rate on this hotel on Orbitz. Having stayed at many hotels in Boston over the years, this was probably my least favorite. It's not far from Quincy Market/Fanueil Hall and was within walking distance to the TD Garden, but I tend to think most of the stuff to do is around Copley and this is far from there. The staff was very apathetic and I barely got a hello upon check-in. Our room was very small but clean and had all the needed amenities. I will agree with other reviewers: the soundproofing is terrible. You can hear anyone walking through the hallways. Worse, some guests in an adjoining room were smoking some "special" cigarettes in their room and the smell traveled into our room. Overall, although it was a great deal, there are definitely other places I would rather stay in the City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It’s like a do it yourself Hotel, Kiosk check in, fill your own chilled bottled water on every floor, one ice station with plenty of buckets in one location. I liked the security card requirement to access the elevator above the lobby and to enter from the adjoining restaurant/pub. (Enjoyed one good meal there) There is a comfortable TV lounge offering free coffee and newspaper right off the lobby. Rooms were a bit small but the low price allowed a two night stay in great location close to historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Macys and a few blocks to many pubs and restaurants. The Financial district is very quiet on Sat & Sun which is nice but a few block walk in any direction finds you whatever you desired. Enjoy Mike & Ginny

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I flew to Boston to attend the AFC Championship Game and I needed a hotel as close as possible to South Station because I was taking the Silver Line in from Logan and the commuter train to/from the game. Club Quarters is perfectly situated for that purpose, as South Station is within a 5-10 minute walk, with the Government Center T station also very close by. The area was relatively busy for a Sunday afternoon and very quiet on Sunday night, but it's not dangerous in the least, mostly because it's not really a tourist heavy area to begin with.

If you need more than location, however, it might not fit the bill as well. This is not to say that there are lots of problems, just that it's not a luxury hotel. On the plus side, check-in and check-out were as smooth as could be. The hotel has computer kiosks for this task, and as a person who would usually rather do such things myself if given the option, I thought they worked well. (I've certainly never checked in or out of a hotel as quickly as I did here.) I arrived a few minutes before the 3:00 check-in time and a room was ready to go without any hassles. The club room provided the as-promised free coffee, even at midnight when I returned from the game, and there appeared to be tea/latte options as well. Service was efficient and courteous, though I didn't exactly test it out with any special requests.

I booked the cheapest room available and got a not very big room (rough estimation of no more than 300 square feet) on the eighth floor with two twin beds. Though cozy, it was immaculately clean, and the shower (no bathtub) had a vertically adjustable head (always a plus for this 6'4" traveler) and plenty of hot water. The flat-screen TV had a small screen, but it was sized appropriately for the room and swiveled out from the wall for positioning at any angle.

Now for the complaint, and it was a big one for me: the rooms were not sound-proofed nearly well enough. I had an 8:00 a.m. flight and needed to leave at around 6:15 to get to Logan. As I didn't even return from the game until midnight, sleep was at a premium, and because of the noise I didn't get very much of it. The door to my room was situated at a 45 degree angle with the door to the adjoining room also at a 45 degree angle, meaning that the two doors met at the tip of a triangle. Whomever had the room next to mine came and went at least two or three times in the six hours I was in my room and I heard the door open and close loudly every single time. I also heard conversations that this person had in the room in addition to conversations being held by people walking down the hall. Further complicating sleep, the door frame to my room let in more light from the hall than I would've preferred, especially considering the fact that one of the beds was maybe five feet from the door.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but the noise issue was unfortunate. (It's possible I was just unlucky to have noisy people next door.) My rate was a great bargain for its location and amenities, and everything worked as advertised. If you want or need to be smack in the middle of downtown Boston, you could certainly do worse; just hope you don't have loud people in the adjacent room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mburtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New York
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you are looking for a location that provides and easy walk to Fanuel Hall Quincy Market/ The north End and waterfront.

The rooms are well kept and they provide water which is nice.
Staff were friendly and helpful during our visit

I would stay here again,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optiman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We found the hotel to be clean with free wifi. The staff was polite and helpful. The hotel is located about 5 blocks from the Government Center T station. It's adjacent to Elephant and Castle Restaurant. As you can see from the picture, the rooms are small. We would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a three star hotel, but the location, set up for business and the great service bump it up. The rooms are small (not uncommon for Boston). The location is great for business and nor bring near tourist stuff downtown. Is a little quiet at night and weekends, would not recommend this place for females traveling alone who like to walk around late. Also close to t and south station. Great deal pricewise.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Justin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,237 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 83 in Boston
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Boston

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Address: 161 Devonshire St, between Milk & Franklin Streets, Boston, MA 02110-1402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#37 Business Hotel in Boston
#40 Family Hotel in Boston
#49 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston is a full service hotel designed for business travelers. Located in the heart of downtown Boston near Faneuil Hall, the North End, Freedom Trail, Quincy Market, and Post Office Square, and a short walk from fine dining, shopping and entertainment. All Club Quarters Hotels provides: • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel • Instant registration and check-out • Club Living Room - an inviting lounge for working, meeting, socializing and relaxing • Free unlimited chilled bottled water • Greater security with keycard access to guest room floors • Restaurant and Bar • Fitness room with cardio equipment and weights • Meeting rooms and office space available • Guest Request Closets on every floor containing extra pillows, blankets and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Boston Hotel Boston
Hotel Quarters Boston
Club Quarters Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing