We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Darling hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Darling hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We just stayed at the Buckminster for the first time, and we’re already planning to go back. The location is great – right next to Fenway and just steps from Kenmore Station. The hotel is classic vintage and although they have updated the amenities, it retains its vintage charm through its curving marble staircases and gilded moldings. The rooms are of average size, the bathrooms on the small side but impeccably clean and decked out in marble. The beds have firm mattresses and lots of fluffy pillows. There’s a fridge and microwave in every room, and a lavish continental breakfast is included. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. The price couldn’t be beat. Don’t expect a cookie-cutter chain hotel, but if a beautifully-maintained vintage sounds like your kind of place, then you’ll love the Buckminster.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KgirlNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    625
    298
    110
    108
See reviews for
416
517
103
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern, NH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

The hotel is old and everything in it is old. But the location is key for SOX's games. We put up to 8 PPL in a two bedroom suite. You can't beat the price for downton Boston.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHFamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

ALBERTA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

We really loved this hotel for the character it had. It was old! As old as Fenway Park, to be exact. The age of the hotel added to the fun of the stay honestly. The hotel on one side is steps from Fenway and all the pre game hang outs and on the other side has a huge selection of all kinds of great restaurants and lounges. Other then the cheering on game nights, the hotel is very quiet! Even the cheering didn't bother us, it was great! The underground subway terminal is with in steps of the front door and so unbelievably easy to use to get around the city!! There are no frills, just clean, comfortable, affordable sleeping quarters, in a great location for accesss to everything, with some charming old character to go with it! Breakfast is included and is simple with a great selection of items. Would go back and would also recommend to everyone! We really enjoyed everything Boston had to offer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick R, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, October 12, 2016
Thank you for completing the survey for us. We value your feedback and patronage. It is good to hear that you took advantage of our great location to experience all that Boston has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
217 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

The Buckminster is charming, due to its old building, labyrthine corridors and often large rooms sometimes complete with old marble (non-working) fireplace and/or crown mouldings in the cieling.
It's location is wonderful, right next to Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox baseball team), Kenmore Square (full of bars and nightlife) and Boston University. Easy access to all other parts of central Boston by subway or taxi within minutes.
The front-desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Delivered a waiting package for me. Switched rooms on more than one occassion for our extended wedding group.
The breakfast, included, was a standard but wonderful buffet in the sushi restaurant located just outside the lobby front doors but within the building. Don't worry: zero smell of fish. Good breakfast, watched the morning news, read the paper.
The "charm" that comes with the Buckminster is that it suffers from faded elegance. The upkeep and renovation has clearly not been kept at a level of preserving this as a luxury or first-class hotel. Instead, the corners of the old carpeting are a bit dirty, the air conditioning was blasting uncontrollably in some rooms while in others it was stuffy and hot, and the bed linens are a bit worn. The rooms, while remarkably large, were often scant of much furniture, and what was there was a bit old. Would be considered charming, and quite standard, in many European hotels, but in the American market of extremely clean and frequently renovated hotels, the Buckminster is in need of a touch-up.
Personally, I liked it for its location, old historic charm and because I've stayed in over 100 hotels in Europe, prefer charm to sterile functionality. However, next time in Boston, will likey choose somewhere new, with so many options out there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terrace, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

i go to Boston every year for st. patricks day/ well really for dropkick murphys shows, the buckminster is so close to the T and the avalon. and from the outside it was so kute!! oh and its right next to unos. but thats where all the good stuff stops the hall ways were so small. the room was big but had mold and smelled. i was so glad i took my own sheets. i will never stay there again!!!!!

Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rockabillyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

The best thing about the Buckminster Hotel is its convenience. The hotel is located within spitting distance of Boston University, Fenway Park, House of Blues and the Kenmore Square T, and it's a decent, very pretty walk to Newbury Street, the Hynes Convention Center and the Prudential Tower. We visited Boston in late September, when the walking weather is at it's best, and it was a cinch getting around town.

The service is top-notch, too - very friendly staff, attentive housekeeping, and when we had an issue with our room, someone was there within 10 minutes.

On the flip side, do not expect too much of the room itself. You'll get what you need: a bed, a desk, a chair, a bathroom, and there was a microwave and minifridge in the room, as well. However, there was no coffee maker, a tiny 13-inch TV, and an extremely spotty internet connection. The hotel offers one hour of free internet per day at very slow speeds (one day we couldn't even load email) - any more time or speed, and you'll have to buy it. There are a number of free networks floating around - if you can catch one, I recommend using that instead. If all else fails, and you need to connect, there's a Barnes and Noble across the street. We can't complain too much - the price was outstanding for the convenience. I just wish we could have left the window open at night (the room overlooked the Turnpike as it feeds into Back Bay).

The free breakfast is your typical continental - coffee, bananas, bagels and danish. I'd recommend heading over to Trident Books and Cafe on Newbury Street for breakfast, instead. It's packed on weekends, but quiet during the week, and their menu is awesome. I'm sure there are reviews here - check them out.

All-in-all, if you're looking for a place to rest your head at night after a day of touristing, shopping, watching the Sox, or dropping your kid off at BU, the Buckminster is a pretty good choice. If you're looking for a romantic getaway or a place to get some work done, you're better off looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPFBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick R, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, October 12, 2016
We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback. We share this information with our staff as we continually strive to improve our guest's experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

We were visiting Boston for one night -- attending a Red Sox game - prior to spending our vacation on Cape Cod. Prior to booking our stay, we inquired about parking and was told parking was available at a garage next store. We booked our stay at the Buckmister as we thought a garage would be more secure than a surface lot.

Our car was broken into and items taken sometime during the night. Both the garage and hotel disclaim any responsibility. The parking garages policy of closing one hour after the game basically means the employees go home at such time NOT that the lot is secured. In fact no gates are closed, security cameras are facing backwards -- it does not appear that the garage takes reasonable care in protecting the overnight cars.

The hotel claims that they simply reimburse the garage for the discount being given hotel guests and the hotel is not involved in the operation of the garage -- fair enough -- but it is very misleading for the hotel to represent that parking is nearby - when they know the parking is not secure overnight. They are a hotel -- they know the cars are going to be there overnight!

I would not recommend anyone stay at the Buckmister if they are traveling with a car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ505newjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing