We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Boston
1 review
“Great value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

This old hotel has been updated and has excellent and accommodating staff. The furnishings are old and rooms and suites oddly shaped, which adds a sort of quirky personality. Not for those who want pristine accommodations but clean and friendly. Good wi-fi. Beds can sometimes be overly firm, but the staff will switch out rooms if they have them. Crowded during baseball season since it's just across a small bridge from Fenway Park.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonDesignteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick R, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, October 12, 2016
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Buckminster and taking the time to provide feedback. We value your comments and share them with our staff in an effort to improve the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    619
    295
    110
    105
See reviews for
412
513
101
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

i just got back from 3 days in boston visitng my son at b.u., and i chose to save money on the room...so i was going to stay in a b and b in brookine when i stumbled over a dirt cheap hotel across the street from fenway, at kenmore square, a perfect location to sight see boston as well as to hook up with my son who lives in allston...WHAT A PLEASNT SURPRISE!! a delightful staff, clean rooms ,, elegantly apponted lobby and furnishings, all for 85 bucks!!! that was less that nay b and b, and $100 less than any hotel in the area!!!...WHAT A FIND!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baldacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick R, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, October 12, 2016
Thank you for completing the survey for us. We value your feedback and patronage. It is good to hear that you took advantage of our great location to experience all that Boston has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

I have been staying at The Hotel Buckminster since 1987, first as the parent of a student in college nearby, and then after that as a passionate Red Sox Fan. While the hotel is undoubtedly one of the oldest in Boston, and probably does not have the same "snob" appeal as some others, that sets it apart from the generic modern hotel which could be in Atlanta, London or Berlin. It has it's own distinctive personality.

The rates are reasonable. The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered and no problem has ever gone unresolved. The present owners/managers have spent time and money modernising the hotel without taking away from its charm.

While my visits are now Baseball related and the proximity to Fenway Park ideal, the location is great for virtually any visitor to Boston as it is minutes away from the "T" which provides transport to greater Boston.

The Buckminster is well run, in a prime location, reasonable, safe and friendly. I always recommend it to anybody I know who is visiting Boston.

Red Sox fan from Bermuda.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickelsNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick R, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, October 12, 2016
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Buckminster and taking the time to provide feedback. We value your comments and share them with our staff in an effort to improve the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

OK, where should I start... OK I'll start with the only positive I can think of. The girl at the front desk was very nice when we checked in. She even had a good sense of humor, which is obviously very necessary at this joke of a hotel.
Granted, this hotel is probably great for a drunken bunch of baseball fans after a Red Sox game because it is seconds from the ballpark, and they would probably be the only people tolerant of such a place, but for anyone sober, it is much too much to stomach.
The room was over 80 degrees and you were unable to turn the heat down, and if you opted to open the window, it sounded as if you were sleeping on the highway below. My entire body and mouth were so dry by morning that i drank 4 glasses of water just to get rehydrated. As if that isn't enough, the bed was so hard that my boyfriend's back is still recovering from sleeping on a 25 year old mattress.
We complained at the front desk about the heat and he told us that they were in the middle of installing a new heating system and they could have adjusted the heat for us from outside the room. This may have been a bit of necessary information at check-in, not check-out.. Also, from the past reviews, it seems as though many others have complained about this heating problem as far back as 2005 so I guess it is quite a lengthly installation process huh?
I am not a Hilton necessary type of person, but this place was the pits. Good thing I had good company to be there with or I really would have written a lousy review!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed comfort/room comfort
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

When all other hotels and B&B's had failed me, the Buckminster came to my rescue and not only had availability but also came in cheaper than anyone else - although still not what I'd call cheap but then you'll find Boston is very pricey.

As I was in Boston just to look around all I really wanted was somewhere just to put my head down for the night, I wasn't looking for luxury because I didn't plan on spending anything but essential sleeping time there. And it did just that - nothing fancy but not worthy of the bad reports I've seen on Trip Advisor.The hotel is brilliantly located - Fenway Park is a few hundred yards away, there's restaurants all over the place and access to the subway is just down the road (Top tip: taxi from the airport cost me a rip off $35 but I got a 7 day pass on the T for $15 which gave me unlimited travel around Boston and I used that to get back to the airport from Buckminster - and that was surprisingly no hassle). If you choose to walk around the city like I did most of the time you'll find the harbour is about an hour away, which sounds a lot but it's well worth it if you want to get a real feel for the city.

The only problem I'd have with the Buckminster is the breakfast in the restaurant next door, which was quite basic and managed by two Japanese ladies who couldn't understand a word of what I was saying. Apart from that, everything was fine - oh, and I should point out that I thought the staff were really helpful and quite conversational. I would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Breakfast was a little lacklustre
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry_Hippo_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

We were looking for an accessable place to stay while close to Fenway... This place can't be beat! Price moderate $109 a night is good for the location. Room is clean and bath is decent. Not much to look at but great for tired people who don't freak out about everything.

We had no trouble getting from the Logan airport to the hotel via the Metro. Get a $2 "Charlie" card to travel one way... nice! Then we took the Freedom Trail which is alot of walking but worth it. Once you are tired and a bit cold stop into the Au Bon Pain, where you can get a hot meal for cheap.

  • Liked — Close to Fenway
  • Disliked — packed trains
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaliaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, NH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed at the Buckminster for a bachelorette party and had a corner suite on the 6th floor. The hotel and room were very clean and the staff was extremely nice. The suite was great with a living area and two bedrooms. The hotel location was perfect in Kenmore square. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing