We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Fenway, nice staff, roomy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were here during Red Sox games at Fenway, which is right near the hotel. Room was nice, staff was friendly and helpful. Free internet. Business center made printing boarding passes easy. Breakfast was a little disorganized. Great location.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank jeschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is hotel is a must stay when visiting Fenway Park. Right around the corner. Nice older hotel, small parking garage connected to hotel. Friendly staff. Rooms were average. Restaurant was average hotel food. Waitress was unfriendly and forgot about us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaitlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the Boston Hotel Buckminster for a friend's wedding. The location of the hotel is amazing. It is located right near Fenway Park and a lot of restaurants, bars, and stores. We arrived about 30 minutes before check-in time and we greeted by a friendly gentleman, who did inform us our room was ready. At check in, they did also give us a $10 credit to use in the on-site restaurant. The room was clean, but small. There was not much room on either side of the bed. We were only staying for one night and were heading off to a wedding so it didn't create problems for us, but if we were staying longer, it would have been a very tight space to live in for a few days. In the morning, we decided to have breakfast at the on-site restaurant before heading home. If they had not given us the $10 credit, we probably would not have eaten at the on-site restaurant, the Fenmore. The service was slow and the breakfast was really bland. The on-site restaurant could really use an upgrade in the food and service. We got the impression that is why the include the $10 credit because the guests will feel obligated to eat there to use the coupon. But, overall, our evening there was enjoyable and if you are looking for a hotel right near Fenway...I don't think you could get any closer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed 4 nights last week while in town for a Boston U grad and to sight see. Since we were taking in a Red Sox game at Fenway Park, the location of the Buckminster was fantastic! Less than a block from the game, transit, the BU, a walk along the river... it really was ideal.
We checked in with ease, requested a room as high as possible (we'd just come from NY and had stayed in a very new, stylish hotel but had a view of the building next to us only) and we were rewarded with a 5th floor (only 6 floors) view of the back of the Green Monster! There were 3 baseball games while we were there, and I'm not a huge ball fan by any means, but it was really cool to have the lights from the ball park light up our room at night (off by 11pm at latest when we were there).
The beds were decent, pillows good, rooms were clean, fairly spacious, if oddly shaped. But keep in mind, this is an old hotel. That's part of it's charm. Could it use a face-lift of new carpet and paint - yes. But, we enjoyed our stay, had no complaints.
If you are sensitive to road noise, don't stay in a room on the ball game side of the hotel, as the crowds can linger sometimes. But we were not kept awake by any noise. I simply noticed a hoot and holler once after the game around 11.
If we were in Boston, we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with a view, you'll get a view of Fenway if rooms available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I was placed here in a Priceline name-your-own-price bid. They have it listed as a 3 star hotel but I would say 2 stars is closer to accurate. It was $190 plus taxes, which seems high to me for a night without the Red Sox playing. Most hotels in this area are much more expensive so this a good place to save money if you're willing to accept its downsides and spend the $$$ elsewhere. If you're easily put off, you wont be happy here. I would rate it as Poor if not for the front desk staff.

The Good: Friendly, efficient front desk staff. Nice location in Kenmore Square, steps to the subway. Quiet room on the 5th floor despite it being right on top of Commonwealth Ave. Very good breakfast with fine coffee for $10 covered by $10 voucher given out at check-in (tax and tip extra). Decent bed in a King room with clean comfortable sheets and blanket. Large clean bathroom with newer fixtures. Free wifi

Not so good: Hallways are kind of dingy and when you look closely not very clean. Reminded me of older budget hotels in England. Rooms retrofitted with sprinklers and outside the wall electrical, which is fine but not very attractive. Old carpet in the room and old furniture. Lousy reception on the flat screen TV. The Fitness room is just a couple of machines and a few weights. No towels or spray to wipe things down. Worse, it hadn't been vacuumed in quite some time with lots of dust and particles on the floor. I'm not a picky person but one has to wonder how much they care to not make a bit of some effort here. And no coffee service in room or even in the lobby. Breakfast starts at 7:00 so no coffee if you're an early riser like me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_B_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in October.
Me and my boyfriend arrived late however we were greated my a nice gentlemen at the reception who indicatedd us how to go to our room and helped with our luggages. We also had the nice suprise to be upgraded at our check in.
The room was nice, spacious and CLEAN.
The staff helped us with direction and places to visit in this city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We booked our room through priceline. Prior to arriving I called to find out if we could reserve a king room and was told to just ask upon arrival and I could get one if it was available. King rooms were available, however it's an extra $10 per night for a king room and an extra $20 per night for a king suite. After seeing the size to the room, we upgraded to a king suite. The queen room is pretty much just a bed, it's quite small. However, the king suite provided an additional living area which was nice. The rooms are small and kind of old. However they were very clean and the furniture all appeared to be up to date and there was a large flat screen tv in the bedroom and a smaller one in the living room.

We were surprised when we checked in that we were provided with two $10 vouchers for the restaurant downstairs for each night of our stay. A $10 voucher is enough to purchase a breakfast if you don't order a drink. You can use it during other meals too, it just doesn't cover tax, tip, or alcohol. This was a nice surprise since breakfast at a restaurant each morning can add up (and the breakfast was good).

It's conveniently located next to the Kenmore subway stop so it's easy to get anywhere in the city from here. I'd stay again, however I definitely recommend upgrading the the king suite.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a king suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,251 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,747 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $118 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing