We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Having attended BU, I walked past this hotel all the time, and having stayed in Boston in hotels like the Lenox, Sheraton and the Brookline Holiday Inn when visiting Boston, I was intrigued by this place, and admittedly a little skeptical because of the lower prices here

My fears were allayed when I checked in for a night to attend a concert on Lansdowne St at the House of Blues with my girlfriend. After parking in the adjacent garage (30 bucks for the night), I was informed we had been upgraded to a suite. After walking to the second floor (elevator was broken but was not an issue for us) I was quite amazed... the room seemed more like an apartment-- hardwood floors, spacious living room, separate bedroom, full-sized fridge and large flat screens in both the living room and the bedroom. Far more room than we needed/expected but we certainly didn't complain!

There were no issues here, the room was clean and quiet, the bed incredibly comfortable, and the desk service very efficient. We popped into the new hotel restaurant/bar The Fenmore for a late night glass of wine, and the bartender (forget her name, but she was from Conway New Hampshire) treated us very well and was incredibly friendly!

I would definitely return here, even knowing full well it will probably be in a smaller room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyMajorDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We are excited that you decided to stay with us and happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, guest service, and overall quality at a budget price. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    510
    234
    92
    87
See reviews for
304
401
85
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It all started with a payment glitch (which could have been avoided if their e-commerce system was a lot more efficient)...and then it \continued with me freezing in my room because, for some reason, the heating was shoddy and took a while to warm up to any respectable level. Fate delivered me with a warmer second day outside so that was a savior. It was a convenient location - it was reasonably-located to the T and other amenities. The food at the restaurant tasted average but we did receive a discounted brunch so I could not complain. The front desk receptionists were not too clever and had an attitude during me dealings with them. Also, the floor plan was like a maze and the elevator was very archaic. Otherwise, for the cost, some of these things were expected. My room had a really large picture window with a lovely view towards the entrance of BU.

Room Tip: Don't expect five star treatment. Just a great place to lay your head. Also, you are expected to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemdroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We appreciate everyone's feedback as it helps us as we strive to constantly improve our level of customer service. Our guests are our most valuable assets and we view every guests opinion as extremely important. We look forward to serving you again in the near future and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We came in the room and it was really cold so we turned on the heat but it stayed cold for about 24 hours, we had to keep our coats and sleep with additional blankets... But the room was just fine with everything we needed!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank van-s-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. While we strive to always provide our guests with the best possible service sometimes we fall short. While we were experiencing a very cold winter season this has been difficult from time to time. I am sorry you feel that your stay with us was less than perfect and we hope that you will return to give us another opportunity to make your Boston experience perfect. Again, than you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Clean but dated rooms. Excellent breakfasts at reasonable prices. A bit out of town but next door to the Red Sox and 2 mins to the subway. The bar only serves beer and wine- what's that about? Plenty of places nearby to have a drink anyway. Reasonable room rate. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanandthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We are always striving to improve the ways we can make our guests stay a memorable one. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

When I checked in none of the lights in my room worked. This was fixed in about an hour. When I was about to go to bed I found an empty wine bottle at my feet under the bed likely left by a previous guest. The next day when I came back from my work I found an empty cup on my night stand with some milky brown residue inside, most likely left by someone taking a "break" in my room. The hotel is in need of renovation and repair. The staff were all very friendly. Location is good. Heat worked though the window was broken and leaked cold air. I left a day early due to the dismal accommodations. All this was over $200 a night plus $30+ for parking. I made the staff aware of these things when I left and was credited a small (approx $20) amount. I do not recommend this hotel except for it's location.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster and thank you for your feedback. We have addressed the issues you mentioned and I am truly sorry that you feel your stay was less than perfect and can assure you that we are continually trying to improve on ways to make your stay with us more memorable. I sincerely hope that you will give us another try when you come to Boston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked this hotel and we could see Fenway from our window. The rooms were clean and the service was great. The rooms feel old but updated. Very affordable and in a very cool part of town. The GPS freaked out trying to get there but we will just blame that on the narrow Boston streets. Great stay, would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We appreciate your business and hope that you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Great find/ spotless; great and friendly staff. Great value for the money. Would definitely stay again. T just across the street. Very accessible to all places. On site bistro good for breakfast. Good coffee. Very historical . A must for baseball lovers/ u can see Fenway from some of the windows.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank randy740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We value each and every one of our guests and always strive for ways to improve upon making your stay with us a memorable one. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#17 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#13 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#49 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing