We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #65 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place is the best. Where else can you stay and see Fenway Park from your room. We went to a playoff game between the Redsox and Detroit Tigers. Wow!!! We also were in town for our sons parents weekend at Northeastern University. This is the hotel Babe Ruth went to after winning the World Series 95 years ago to celebrate. Walking on sacred ground was pretty cool. The staff makes you feel like your an old friend coming in for the weekend! If you want a hotel thats in the middle of everything in Boston pick the Buckminster you can't go wrong! This is our second time here and I'm sure its not going to be our last!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dekalb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We share a long history with Fenway Park right next door and are pleased that you could share in that experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    629
    301
    111
    109
See reviews for
420
519
104
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a weekend trip, two nights.

Front staff was welcoming and helpful with directions.

Finding the room was a pain, they give you a general direction but then there's 3 separate hallways which may contain your room.

Room/bathroom was clean. Somewhat small. The walls seemed to be paper thin, the group in the room next to us was obnoxiously loud late into the night and constantly opening and closing their door .

Bed was on the stiff side which didn't bother me, but gf had trouble with it.

I think breakfast was included? We were out early and didn't check it out.

Very close to Fenway if you're going to a game. ~5 minute walk.

It's a bit from the heart of Boston but a $15 cab ride brought us right there.

Expensive , but seemed to be one of the better prices for the season.

Nothing incredible, nothing poor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank McChazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We hope to see you again soon and hope that you will take the time to visit our Restaurant. The Fenmore American Bistro serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a great historical place to stay. Rooms were recently remodeled, I was upgraded to a King Studio, views of Kenmore Square,and Boston Univ. Fenway literally at back of hotel. Front desk and restaurant staff were exceptional. Walking distance to everything, or short cab drive or subway. This is the place to stay,if you want "to do Boston right!" I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Ilan Univesity
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is in an old building and not in a well-known chain, but I found it excellent. Very nice room (certainly for Boston), excellent location at least for me (walking distance from BU, and a very pleasant few minutes bike ride to MIT - or downtown, there's a stand few meters from hotel), and also next to subway. Staff is VERY nice, in particular a guy in reception called Ismail (mentioning just since I had few interactions with him). Ah and there was free wifi - front desk said it is limited to 90 min per device (I have several so that was no worry...), - but then in reality it was not limited at all. There are few steps from street to lobby, there's a buzzer you press and they bring your stuff in, and elevator for the disabled. Breakfast is paid and I preferred outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assoc-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boston Hotel Buckminster. We are always pleased when our guests have a great stay and get to enjoy all that Boston has to offer. We look forward to having you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Buckminster does what it needs to do: great staff, prompt and courteous attention, extremely convenient to mass transit (one block from Kenmore T station), good cafe for all meals, large rooms that are well furnished. True, this is not luxury, but for the business traveler or family, it is safe, convenient, and wonderfully staffed. They were all outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
As the new General Manager of the Boston Hotel Buckminster I would personally like to thank you for your kind words. We are always excited to know that our guests are satisfied and enjoy their time in Boston, and that our staff has done their job well! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel that is not the Weston or Marriott. It is clean, comfortable and close to everything. Front desk staff was professional and friendly. We were in room 427, very large with a large and very clean bathroom. Hot water was HOT. Kenmore T stop was 100 yards away. Overall a very good experience at the Buckminster - we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay that was near Boston University. We will definitely return. The location was great. It was near the subway station. It was also very close to Fenway. The staff was very friendly. Our room was ready when we got there. We were in a suite with 2 good sized rooms. The rooms were very clean. The bed was very comfortable. We ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel and the food was very good. The coffee was great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank happycamper097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,446 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing