We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #65 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Epic!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early to check in, I wasn't expecting to be checked in and we just wanted to leave the bags but Ishmael informed us our room was ready which was great!
Upon entering the room me and my partner realised our room had been upgraded to a suite with a fantastic view of Boston/Fenway park!
All the staff were helpful and polite and the restaurant for breakfast which was amazing (we ate out in the evenings)!
The room was lovely and clean and they have laundry facilities on each floor which is great.
Fantastic location near the kenmore subway, Fenway park and beacon st, ATM and a 7/11 etc.
we will most definitely stay at the Buckminster again and I highly recommend to everyone this is the place to stay in Boston.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tilly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    630
    301
    111
    109
See reviews for
421
519
104
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet --

When you first walk into the Buckminster, they do a very good job of making it seem like this hotel fits into a modern Boston atmosphere, but rest assured that it's almost as old as Fenway Park which is basically next door.

When I walked into my room, it looked like I walked into my parents house in 1986 -- the room is the most dated room I have ever seen anywhere. Everything is wooden, the walls and floors are gross, there is dirt and grime everywhere (you get the point).

The television is legit from 1986, and the bed was so old that it would creek all night long with any movement whatsoever.

Don't worry, I saved the worst for last. I walked into the bathroom and opened the shower curtain, and it looked like someone was murdered in the bathtub. I have attached a picture here, but the picture doesn't do it justice. It seriously looked like the bathtub was covered in blood, and I almost threw up all over myself. I took a picture and went to the front desk, where they reassured me that it was "gross", and that they would send housekeeping up to clean it.

I feel gross staying her, and I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djsoylatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location, great hotel. Rooms are a bit dated but huge. Definitely would recommend a tour round Fenway Park. City centre is about 20-30 mins walk. Staff were very friendly, and even the maintenance man helped us plan our 2 day visit around Boston

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay here every time I come to Boston. It is not fancy, but it is clean, quiet and the staff is great. They have a business center where you can use computers if you did not bring yours. There is a new restaurant downstairs that has a great breakfast. It is just a block from the subway and across the street from Fenway. I stayed there this time when there were some postseason games at Fenway and even though there was lots of roudiness on the streets I never heard a thing in my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiesMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Boston is an expensive city, this place is old school expensive. I think there is better value to be had at newer properties. Location ok, but only excellent if you are a RedSox fan. They need to offer a kettle in room, plus proper mugs, tea etc. this would make a big difference. Rooms are huge, but space is wasted due to old fashioned nature of building. It is a bit tired!

Room Tip: Ask what layout it is. And ask for a kettle and crockery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip. The location is very good, just a few steps from Kenmore Square and easy walking distance to a number of things, including Boston University, Fenway Park, Coolidge Corner and not too far from Newbury St.

The hotel on the whole could use a refresh though. The interior decor is a bit shabby and dated. My room, when I entered, put me into a hallway with a flickering light with a door for the bathroom on the right and for the bedroom on the left. I was unable to shut out the hallway light (though I was able to close the door).

All that said, the staff was very friendly and helpful. And the free 60 minutes of wifi actually lasted for my entire stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank theresatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is overpriced (using the fact they are close to Fenway Park to up the price). Staff generally friendly but if you book B&B, the truth is it is not included. I had a long argument with the Front Office Manager (Elena) who was totally unwilling to conceed that the Hotel was at fault. Rooms generally clean, but there are better hotels in Boston at a better price. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ray_illingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing