We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, stone throw away from Red Sox stadium” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #67 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, stone throw away from Red Sox stadium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location, great hotel. Rooms are a bit dated but huge. Definitely would recommend a tour round Fenway Park. City centre is about 20-30 mins walk. Staff were very friendly, and even the maintenance man helped us plan our 2 day visit around Boston

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    619
    294
    110
    105
See reviews for
412
513
101
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay here every time I come to Boston. It is not fancy, but it is clean, quiet and the staff is great. They have a business center where you can use computers if you did not bring yours. There is a new restaurant downstairs that has a great breakfast. It is just a block from the subway and across the street from Fenway. I stayed there this time when there were some postseason games at Fenway and even though there was lots of roudiness on the streets I never heard a thing in my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiesMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Boston is an expensive city, this place is old school expensive. I think there is better value to be had at newer properties. Location ok, but only excellent if you are a RedSox fan. They need to offer a kettle in room, plus proper mugs, tea etc. this would make a big difference. Rooms are huge, but space is wasted due to old fashioned nature of building. It is a bit tired!

Room Tip: Ask what layout it is. And ask for a kettle and crockery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip. The location is very good, just a few steps from Kenmore Square and easy walking distance to a number of things, including Boston University, Fenway Park, Coolidge Corner and not too far from Newbury St.

The hotel on the whole could use a refresh though. The interior decor is a bit shabby and dated. My room, when I entered, put me into a hallway with a flickering light with a door for the bathroom on the right and for the bedroom on the left. I was unable to shut out the hallway light (though I was able to close the door).

All that said, the staff was very friendly and helpful. And the free 60 minutes of wifi actually lasted for my entire stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank theresatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is overpriced (using the fact they are close to Fenway Park to up the price). Staff generally friendly but if you book B&B, the truth is it is not included. I had a long argument with the Front Office Manager (Elena) who was totally unwilling to conceed that the Hotel was at fault. Rooms generally clean, but there are better hotels in Boston at a better price. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ray_illingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights. First, on both days, we had to contact the front desk to get hot water for showers. Elevators are very small and not clean. On a positive note, the beds were good. Just think the quality of the room was not comparable to the price which was was too high. Wonder what would happen to this property if Fenway was not just across the the interstate? Staff was sensitive and apologetic to our concerns. The other two people who traveled with us had this same experience. We were supposed to return to Boston for one more night at the hotel but cancelled and got a room at a Hampton Inn that was superior to our room and about half the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CodyPoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Buckminster Hotel. The location was pretty good; close to the T, with restaurants and bars in close proximity, and some shopping nearby if you don't mind walking a bit more. The service was okay, I didn't find the front desk staff to be particularly friendly, although they were not rude either. The room was small and outdated, but it was a bed to sleep in and I was happy to see there as a fridge and microwave in the room. There was enough space for the two of us and as we were just going to be in the room for sleeping, it wasn't a problem. The reservation noted that continental breakfast is included- what this meant was that we each got a $5 voucher to use at the restaurant each morning of our stay that could be used to purchase the "continental breakfast," or could be used to discount any of the other options. A bit unusual, but it worked out well- it was nice to have the flexibility. Overall I can't complain about the stay, but there was nothing to make it stand out either- it was decidedly average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sareva29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing