We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Older hotel with lots of character. Definitely not cookie cutter rooms. Stayed in a Jr suite and it was perfect for the 2 of us. Very spacious although bathroom was a bit small and no counterspace. King bed was very comfortable. Only complaint is that the shades didn't block the morning sun and my husband kept getting me up earlier each day. The view of Fenway Park was fantastic. Staff was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    634
    301
    111
    109
See reviews for
427
519
104
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Buckminster in April for my husband's birthday. The location is perfect for those interested in going to a few baseball games at Fenway, which was the goal of our trip. There are also a lot of great restaurants, bars, and a T stop in walking distance. The price was fairly reasonable, though our room was quite small and warm at night, the breakfast wsa great and it sastified our needs of a nice, safe, clean place to sleep. The hotel itself is beautiful, staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay again as it was comfortable and pleasant stay. Go down the street to Boston Beer Works for a great beer and dinner!

Room Tip: We tried to get a room with a view, but ended up facing the interior courtyard, which wasn't muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Picked this hotel because of it's close proximity to Fenway - it was also very reasonably priced (especially since we were seeing the Red Sox/Yankees game). However, that being said - we will never come here again. The hotel looks old & dilapidated (not quaint, or historic, like I was expecting), with the rooms no larger than a dorm room. We got NO sleep because the bed was very uncomfortable, with no spare pillows. Cranked up high, we had luke-warm showers. Interesting use of paper plates/bowls & plastic silverware at the continental breakfast...food wasn't better (thank GOD Starbucks was nearby!). Staff WAS nice & friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFoodie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have a son attending BU in September and this hotel is both affordable and conveniently located (one block to the "T") so no need to look elsewhere. The staff at the busy front desk are helpful and friendly. I was told it was an apartment building at one time but slowly converted to a hotel which explains the laundry rooms on each floor. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and breakfast is included. I'll be back to stay another two nights in a month.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constantlyneedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edirne, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed there only for a couple nights. I loved the historical texture there. Yet, it is quite affordable. There was a nice view of Fenway Park. It is a very centeral place for everything held in Boston. It would be nice to enjoy Berklee BeanTown Jazz Festival in September. But if you are late for the breakfast, you find almost nothing :) There was a decent Japanese restaurant downstairs. Please make the most of there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoBorderNoCry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

stayed there for a concert at fenway, was looking for a hotel need by that wasntn ho jo's and wasnt too far way. Buckminster was so close snd such a nice hotel! we will definitely be back! loved it and they were working on their own restaurant & lounge as we stayed...And from what we could see with a little sneak peak... it looked fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonbarabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Buckminster Hotel is amazing. My friend and I went to a concert this past weekend @ Fenway Park which is a quick 2 mintue walk from the hotel! Front desk employees were very helpful and our room was fantastic! Thought it was going to be a simple bedroom but they upgrated us to a newly renovated suite. Full kitchen, living room, bath and bedroom. Cleanest hotel I have ever been in as well!

If you are going to a redsox game, a concert or even just going out for a night on the town I recomend that you stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klafond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,907 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,534 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,264 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing