We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a two night stay with the family. The location to Kenmore Station and restaurants is great. The staff has been very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel has nice charm and the room is comfy.

1  Thank mnavegas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
There are newer reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place has character, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Our room turned out to be a suite, lots of space and all very clean and taken care of. It's just down the road from Fenway Park, as well as some good restaurants and bars. The subway is super close and so is a city bike drop off point if you are looking to hire them. The breakfast had huge selection too, fresh fruit, waffles, cereals, toast, yoghurts, bagels, muffins, tea/coffee, juice... I was impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeCee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you are going to catch a game at Fenway or need to be in the area of Boston University, the Buckmister is a good value selection. Stayed two consecutive nights in two different rooms - the first night had a smaller room with a view towards BU and a very small TV straight from the 1990's, while the second night had a larger room with a view directly in to Fenway Park (just 134 steps away) and a flat screen TV. Needless to say, the quality of the rooms differs greatly. Elevators travel a bit slow, so you might want to take the stairs if you are in a rush. The complimentary breakfast (served in the side room of Pizzeria Uno) was just ok, but at least it was included in the price - the only warm food was the waffles under the heat lamp. It was a fun neighborhood to stay in, with all the Red Sox fans flooding the neighborhood before the game. The front desk - who I found to be helpful and knowledgeable - wear Red Sox jerseys on game days to add to the fun. While it is not a great hotel for business, it is a good pick for ball games or BU

Room Tip: Ask at check-in if they have a larger room with view of Fenway and flat screen TV available
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltime841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family of four traveled to Boston and stayed at the Buckminster while my son was looking at schools in the area. We had an early flight, and the hotel staff immediately accommodated us by allowing us to keep our luggage in a storage area while we traveled around the city.

Upon our return, our check-in was very smooth, and the hotel staff retained their positive attitudes. We stayed in a 2-room 3 Queen suite on the 5th floor. Although you could tell that the room was a bit "seasoned" (furniture worn, chair that was completely broken, 19 inch ancient televisions) the beds were very comfortable and the room was always clean.

The continental breakfast fits the description of previous reviews-- adequate w/ coffee, juice, rolls, muffins, bagels, waffles, pastries, cereal, etc. This didn't pose a problem for us, however, as we would quickly grab a few things before heading out for the day.

The ULTIMATE commendation for this hotel has to be its LOCATION! Although the Sox were out of town when we stayed (making things much quieter), the proximity to Fenway Park practically forced us to take a tour of the historic ballpark. Additionally, the Buckminster is conveniently located right down the street from the Kenmore T Station, which connects to all branches of the Green Line. We all bought 7-day passes for the T, and given the prime location of the Buckminster it was easy to get our money's worth for all of the T trips that we took. The location was also essential for our son's college trips-- located pretty much right on the outskirts of the Boston University campus, it is also just a 10-15 minute walk to Northeastern University, and a 25 minute T ride to Boston College.

Overall, we were very pleased with the value and location of the Buckminster. Although it was a bit worn, we never had any major complaints, and we all slept well (which is why we were probably so chipper!). If you are looking for a lower-tier hotel with an excellent value and a superb location, then the Buckminster is definitely for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leeny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel was perfect as a home base for game day. Easy parking, easy location for the game and other areas in town. The young people working all around were great. We stayed on the 6th floor. It was quiet and the bed was comfy. Nice view of Fenway from 631. It's not fancy but for our needs at the time it was just right. A special shout out to Josh at the front desk for helping us with things we left behind. Next night game we attend we will plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you are in town for a game at Fenway, this is the place to stay, as others have suggested. It's a perfectly three-star property--nothing fancy, but clean and well located--and funky enough to be interesting. Staff was very friendly; breakfasts were the same as all other three-star hotels across the country. You get a fridge and micro in the room, but our fridge didn't work. Furniture is in bad shape, but I noticed some of the rooms had been redone, so try for one of those. The worst thing was the heat: we had the temp on 65 but had trouble sleeping because of the very warm rooms. We were on the 4th floor and there was a bit of street noise, so you might try staying up a bit higher. Still--not a bad place at all, especially if you are in town for a game!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgriestdevora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Quick and early check-in with very friendly staff situated very close to the subway so minutes from anywhere in Boston. Although the Boston subways are very slow!

Not the Hotels fault but worth knowing.

Breakfast was adequate and kept us going for most of the morning.

Minutes from Fenway Park so tends to be a lot of Baseball fans staying at the hotel.

Very noticeable how quieter it is when The Red Sox are playing away.

My only negative would be the noise from the traffic outside drivers beeping other drivers being the most annoying, day and night. Not the hotels fault and this is a city hotel but worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen63b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,158 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 84 in Boston
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,463 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $128 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing