We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a convention at the Hynes Convention Center in June, 2013 and booked a 4 night stay at the Buckminster. I took the T from the airport and the subway let me off less than a block from the hotel. I walked to Hynes each day, and it was an easy 20 minute walk.
The staff were very nice and helpful. I originally booked a double bed, but I was upgraded to a queen bed. Apparently I was staying in an expensive area of Boston as far as hotels go, but the Buckminster was the cheapest I could find, and they gave me 10% off since I was on a business trip. It's very conveniently located to the T, Fenway Park is right around the corner, and there are many places to go all within walking distance.
My room was a perfect size with a comfortable bed. Free wi-fi for 1 hour a day, a microwave, refrigerator, tv, iron, hair dryer, desk, and the room was nice and quiet. The room was clean except the white tile grout in the bathroom had mold. I am a clean freak, and everything was well kept except for that mold. Disgusting, but could easily be taken care of with some bleach. Hint hint. There was a free continental breakfast in the morning with plenty of seating.
I loved the character of the old hotel, I liked the friendly staff, and the location was perfect for me. I would recommend this hotel, and I would stay here again if I went back to Boston.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having spent one night in a tiny room in New York we were very apprehensive about the possibility of being in the same for our longer stay in Boston. Had a wonderful 3 room setup with huge rooms and comfortable beds. Ideal for a longer stay with guest laundry each floor, very close to train station and the baseball, most adequate breakfast and really friendly and helpful staff. We loved the city and our "home" for the six nights just made the whole visit even more special. Good value for long term travellers.

Room Tip: We had a corner on the top floor with views up to the square. It was fairly quiet considering three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55TassieTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you are a Red Sox fan, and you travel to Boston for games, you cannot do better than the Buckminster. Simple, clean rooms, friendly staff, and around the corner from Fenway Park! From many rooms, you can see the park from your window. Ever since finding the Buckminster of TripAdvisor, we never stay anywhere else in Boston. We have also recommended it to many out-of-town Sox fans, and now they all stay there, too. A hidden gem!

Room Tip: More expensive rooms face Fenway Park, less expensive rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Buckminster Hotel. The hotel is literally a block away from Fenway Park. It's history is it's charm...but the televisions and amenities need to be updated. Having said that the staff is very pleasant and did I mention it's A BLOCK AWAY FROM FENWAY. But if you're not gonna catch a game...not sure it's worth the price then.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracytaylortx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was finding it IMPOSSIBLE to find a moderately priced hotel in Boston. And then I stumbled upon the hotel Bunkminster. It is literally across the street from Fenway. Although we were not going to a game, we did do a tour which was cool. The subway was very close by which got us to where we needed to go. The room did not have a view of the park... We had a view of the building across the street. :( But since we did not spend much time in the room, it was not a big deal. The room was quite small as well. They did have a very nice continental breakfast each morning with waffles, cereal, bagels, fruit, coffee, and juice. Overall, it was good for the price. I would most likely stay there again. In addition, they called our room 20 minutes after we checked in to make sure everything was ok. I thought that was nice!

Room Tip: If you care try to request a fenway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiekaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed here during the last weekend of April. We are both first responders (police officers) from New Jersey and were in town for a benefit to support victims of the recent tragedy. At checkout I asked the front desk clerk (Vincent) if there were any discounts for government employees. He said there were but was unable to offer them to us because our account had already been paid. Once I returned home I e-mailed the hotel giving them my name and phone number to see if they could provide me with an explanation. They never responded back in any way. It seems to me the staff should be better trained when handling problems with the guests.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short trip to Boston. I had bought him tickets to see the Baltimore Orioles play at Fenway Park against the Boston Red Sox. The hotel was nice. The front desk staff was friendly and always greeted us when we were coming and going. The elevator is dated and leaves something to be desired. The room was small, but accommodated us nicely. They even provided us with Toothpaste because we forgot to pack it!

The location was great! It was less than a block to the nearest T station(Kenmore). It was a short walk to Fenway Park and there were many dining options that were in walking distance.

I would definitely not hestitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 85 in Boston
2,454 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 85 in Boston
3,856 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#10 of 85 in Boston
4,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 85 in Boston
780 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $99 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Boston Hotel Buckminster located in Kenmore Square, a few steps away from Fenway Park. Built in 1897 this hotel takes you back in time with its old world elegance. A historic hotel that hosted a speakeasy in the 1920's and hosted jazz legends including Billie Holiday and Charles Mingus. More notoriously, it was the site where the 1919 baseball-fixing scheme, the Black Sox Scandal for the World Series was planned. Our 132 guestrooms and suites have been tastefully designed for simplicity, elegance and comfort. All accommodations include complimentary Wi-Fi, HD Flat screen TVs with HBO, microwaves, mini-fridges and large soft beds. For the best views in the house, ask for our City View rooms overlooking Fenway Park, the iconic Citgo sign and the Boston landscape. Boston Hotel Buckminster is within walking distance to Boston University and House of Blues. Come join us for a relaxing stay where the crossroads to history and baseball collide in an elegant fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing