We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for Red Sox games”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel for Red Sox games”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My son and I stayed for a weekend series in mid May. Hotel was just outside the Kenmore Square T stop. I didn't ask for it, but they gave us a room on the 6th floor which overlooked the ballpark. My son was so happy. We were in walking distance to Fenway and all the tours as well as the Red Sox souvenir store. Nearby was a great restaurant for breakfast (Eastern Standard) which had open air dining. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elamb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    634
    301
    111
    109
See reviews for
427
519
104
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
münchen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Buckminster Hotel is situated next to the underground - 10 minutes from the city centre.
The rooms are big and quiet and the staff was exceptionally friendly and competent.
The only problem we had was that we didn't have our own computer which seems to be very unusual - so it's complicated and quite expensive to go on Internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 198689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Good prices, very nice staff, clean room. Don't expect fancy, but how much time do you really spend in your room? Loved having the little breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJHS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Other than the horribly unfriendly attitude displayed by the front desk person named Kendra, the 20th Century TV and the twin bed (really, it was a true twin size bed !), I thought the place was OK. It was very clean and well located. Aside from Kendra, the hotel staff were great. There are good restaurants in the neighborhood. The free continental breakfast was, well, quite Continental. I give the Buckminster a "2.75".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAINYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
187 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We needed a room for one night near the Kenmore Square area, we would be arriving late at 10 pm and leaving early, by 6 am. Ammenities, size of room etc. were of no importance, just location and cost. The Buckminster had suprisingly large rooms, clean comfortable and very affordable for the area. A great value for the location, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I travel to Boston a lot and cannot really afford to stay in the high end hotels, so we are always looking for a great "value" hotel, and this place was it. Complementary breakfast in the morning was "serviceable", meaning that it got the job done, but was nothing to rave about. The rooms were really small, but that's typical in Boston. The parking next door was $28/day which isn't that bad considering that some of the nearby lots cost more than than. The best part about this place was the location! If you plan to go to Fenway Park then this is the hotel for you. It is literally a 5 minute walk to Yawkey Way and all of the surrounding bars and restaurants. Will definitely be back to the Buckminster.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QB1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This classic old historic hotel is my favorite place in Boston, marble entry way, everyone treats me like VIP, "Welcome back Kathryn" always makes me smile.....and the best part is if you are going to Red Sox game it's right outside your door. Rooms are spacious, windows actually open, and it feels like European charm and elegance.
Lot's of bars and restaurants right in neighborhood, bookstore, BU.....it's just a fun area, close to T subway.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassachusettsKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,902 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,531 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,264 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing