We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and overall very pleased with hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location and overall very pleased with hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2005

The hotel was in a great location - directly across from the Prudential Centre shopping mall, with bars, restaurants and a supermarket all within a five minute walk.

The hotel room was a good size and immaculately clean. The bathroom could do with being a bit bigger, although it served its purpose. The TV was surprisingly small but it was adequate and you don't go on holiday to sit in your room and watch the TV all day anyway! The room was very bright and airy and the air-conditiong worked fantastically and cooled the room down immediately when too warm (unseasonably warm temparatures at start of October).

Because of the choice of restaurants available in the area we only dined in the hotel restaurant once for breakfast. The portions were a good size and the service was also good.

The hotel was an excellent choice and we would certainly considering staying here again if we return to Boston.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TeamMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    783
    224
    80
    57
See reviews for
767
876
143
792
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2005

I stayed here for a wedding. While the wedding party was treated well, I was often treated poorly and spoken to as if I were trespassing on the property.

The room was average and the shower was VERY bad. The water pressure was painful and I felt that the shower head was going to fall off. The TV was the smallest hotel TV I have ever seen.

Upon checkout, the front desk left me on hold for a long time to answer a simple question.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2005

At $350 a night, no airconditioning on a hot august day is simply not worth it...never again to this dump!

Stayed August 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2005

We arrived in Boston with no hotel booked and drove around, looking for a 4* plus hotel with a swimming pool that looked child friendly.

Although the room was "ok", I am used to slightly better facilities and bigger rooms for this class of hotel.

The swimming pool - our principal reason for staying here - was only open for an hour during our stay. The hotel unilaterally kept it closed at all other times as it was "too cold".

It was warm enough for us to be wearing shorts and t-shirts, but the hotel staff basically couldn't be bothered to put a coat on whilst sitting next to the roof top pool to watch over any swimming guests.

When we asked about this, we were told in a very patronising tone that it was "common knowledge" that the pool would be closed during "cold spells". I can only presume that the hotel manager is from warmer climes - as it was around 65 degrees when it became "too cold" to open the pool!

Aside from patronising and occasionally rude staff, small rooms and limited pool availability, we had a reasonably pleasant stay.

I would not stay again, however, and my family agree!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chriswith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2005

The rooms in the hotel are in major need of renovation, it felt like it was 1980 decor. The bathrooms were gross, they smelled like a public urinal. In the A.M., I pleasantly found my bath tub filled with dirty water and sand due to a back up. I must say, management responded by putting us in a new room and took off one nights parking ($32). Parking is a rip off! Other than that, we attended a wedding at the hotel that was nice. Had cocktail hour on the roof top, nice view. When I return to Bean town, I will pass on the Collannade, because I would like to have a room with clean carpets and a clean bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jetsetter122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2005

If you want mediocrity with an attitude then the Colonnade is for you...oh and lets not forget Brasserie Jo too...seems as if they are made for each other!

Our room was one of the newer ones but the hairs from the previous guest were a bit much and the general management seems to feel that it is your priveledge to stay with them. Check in is at 3:00...however that doesn't mean your room will be ready...it just seems to mean that you can do their paperwork and on paper, check in...but not to your room.

Now to the Brasserie Jo...didn't realize the French were noted for instant iced tea or cold "pommes frites" or undercooked potatoes or cold eggs or 1 server for far too many tables or dirty dishes or dirty table cloths...or mediocre food!

All in all, an "Ok" experinece if you are buying your room at a discount on hotels or priceline...$125 max for a "premiere room" and maybe $99 for a "deluxe roon"...but for your own sake, don't pay retail for a sub-standard hotel, restaurant and lodging experience. Great deals on Marriott and Sheraton whose locations are just as good...and you can get bonus points too!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2005

Four star prices with a two star value. In town for college registration with my daughter - we were quite dissapointed in the room. TINY bathroom with black & green mold stained grout, 1/2 roll of TP, dated furnishings, carpet that verges on being indoor/outdoor and an odor that fluctuates between wet basement and care facility. The housekeepers appear to be adults but the results of 30min per room could easily be improved upon by any 12 year old with the ability to turn on a vaccum. Keep in mind, this hotel allows pets so that may explain a few things.... Good luck!

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing