We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and PERFECT wedding event location!”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and PERFECT wedding event location!”
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We chose the Colonnade Hotel as the location for our wedding reception and couldn't have been happier with our selection. Not only could our guests not stop talking about the excellent accommodations and service at the hotel, but the event itself was perfect. The examples of the Colonnade's exceptional attention to detail and all the "special" things the hotel did are so numerous, we've had to categorize and summarize them below:

1. Event Selection/Planning: The wedding packages offered are terrific. They include everything you could hope for and don't nickel and dime you. The Event Planning Staff is very knowledgeable and was willing to accommodate any special and/or unique requests we had. We spent 9 months planning the event with the coordinator and felt the entire time that every aspect/detail/concern was addressed and covered by the event coordinator and banquet manager. They were available at all hours, even giving us their home email address.

2. Hotel Location: Perfect location! It is right downtown in Copley, feet away from the Prudential Center with a T stop right in front of the Hotel. There are multiple restaurants (local and national chains, fine dining, quick eats, and even a sports restaurant), a 24 hour grocery store and a 7-11 all within 100 yards. The Trolley Tour pickup and Duck Tour are across the street.

3. Hotel grounds/rooms/amenities: The Colonnade sparkles with class and resonates with elegance. The rooms were recently remodeled and look modern and sharp; flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, marble sinks, and modern fixtures. The rooftop pool is a MUST-SEE. It has awesome views of the city (including Fenway Park). The restaurant (Brassiere Jo) is top-notch, with excellent food and a terrific Belgian beer selection.

4. Hotel Staff: Everyone (Myself, my wife, our wedding guests staying at the hotel) were treated like royalty. No request was too small and everyone was made to feel accommodated and welcomed. The staff seemed to know all our wedding guests by name and treated them with 5 star professionalism. Multiple examples of "above and beyond" service, for example:
- Special amenities left in our parents rooms.
- Very early check-in for some of our guests who arrived early due to incoming flights.
- My friend forgot to pack his suit jacket and the Concierge gave my friend his own personal jacket to wear for the wedding (literally giving him the "shirt" off his back).

5. The Wedding: If you are having an event in Boston (Business, weddings, large party) you should seriously consider the Colonnade. The staff, food, roof-top pool cocktail hour, & reception hall all served to make our wedding a classy, elegant, and uniquely memorable event. Our guests said we could have stopped after the cocktail hour and it would have been better than any other wedding they attended. The food astonished everyone. Everything from the stationary displays to the passed hors d'oeuvres to the dinner itself met and could beat the standards of any 5-star restaurant. The chef personally came out to check on the food and the entire wait staff knew every detail of the dishes prepared. The hotel wedding coordinator and banquet manager were there every step of the way, ensuring not one detail was missed. The front desk manager and hotel staff could not have been more professional and accommodating. Everyone exceeded our highest expectations.

To summarize - we would recommend this hotel for any of your needs whether vacation, business, or major events. We plan to celebrate our anniversary here for many years to come.

  • Liked — Location, food, room/amenities, AND THE AWESOME STAFF AND SERVICE!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,035
    809
    234
    83
    58
See reviews for
803
907
149
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

This hotel was booked directly but using a code from a Hotwire ticker special of $219 per night ( plus tax). This hotel was a good deal as the room was good size with two queen beds, many downtown older hotels are small and offer only one bed.I did feel they should include free internet, especially since many people paid an even higher room rate. The location was great across from the Prudential Center with a T stop right outside the door. The room and beds were very comfortable and had plenty of space for the two of us. We had minor problems each day with housekeeping as they forgot to leave items every day we were there ( glasses, hand towels, shampoo). Jimmy, Bell Captain, was always friendly and helpful. Thornton's Restaurant, only a short block away, was a very reasonable place for a quick breakfast. Shaw's is a large grocery store located very close which is a great place to pick up snacks, unfortunately I didn't realize it was there until the day before we left. This hotel is a great place to stay if you can get a reasonable rate.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room refrigerator so full with items they want you to purchase no room for personal items
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

I just returned from a wonderful one night stay at the Colonnade with my daughter and adult step daugther. Expedia had a great deal ($169/night for a 2 double beds) which I grabbed after reading the reviews here. The room was modern, very clean and fairly spacious for Boston and New York standards. Fluffy pillows were piled high on top of the white down comforter. There was a large flat screen tv with a dvd player (perfect for my six yr old), a small table with two chairs and an ottomon. The bathroom had marble tops and the bath was topped off with a cute yellow rubber ducky with the hotel's name on it! And did I say it was clean? We were on the top (12) floor which was a smoking floor but our room was non smoking. Occassionally there was a hint of old smoke but not enough to bother us (and I have asthma). Our large SUV did not fit in the parking structure, but we were directed to an outside lot one block away across from the Sheraton ($30/day). Location was perfect - across from the Prudential on Huntington Ave. PF Changs, Cheesecake Factory, Daily Grill and Barnes and Nobel are also across the street. Green line was in front of the hotel. Staff was friendly all around. From the room I called about internet access and was told that it was $13/day but if I signed up for the I Prefer benefit program (free) for Summit Hotels, then I could get access for free!

  • Liked — Location and comfy room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lumbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Got a good rate on hotels.com Kind of hard to find the parking entrance. Safe, secure parking garage. Easy check-in. They were still renovating the other end of the floor I was on. The hallway was a bit too dark in my opinion. My room was newly renovated and nice. Clean and good size. Comfortable stay. Centrally located by Prudential Center and other areas of interest. I would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Liked — location, parking
  • Disliked — dark hallway
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

The Colonnade has been renovated recently and is magnificient. We spent three days in Boston. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Our bar fridge wasn't working when we got to our room so we called the front desk and within 1 hour our new fridge was delivered and set up. As we were travelling with our pet, we were on the 5th floor (all travellers with pets are on the 5th floor). Our room was large and we had a great view of the city. The exercise room is also on the 5th floor and is well equipped. There are a few treadmills, stairclimbers and elipticals as well as a full gym of weight machines, free weights, etc. A good place for an early morning workout. The Colonnade is right across from the Prudential Centre, and the "T". Great, central location. We parked our car and walked and took the "hop-on, hop-off" tour to see the city and it was a fantastic, easy way to do it. You never had to wait more than 15 minutes for a bus, and you could spend as little or as much time as you wanted at any of the historic sites.
We had a great seafood dinner in an informal setting at the Summer Shack. Lots of great restaurants on Newberry Street.

  • Liked — friendly staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — pool was closed at 8pm
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank truck_trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Very contemporary hotel right by the Prudential Center, terrific and pleasant staff. The rooms are newly decorated and good sized, though the construction is not over yet, leading to noise during the day. Rooms at the front of the hotel are larger than the backside. Room service from Brasserie Jo was excellent and very quick. Great hotel to stay at in the back bay area.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeHotel, Management at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2008
Thank you so much for your kind review. We especially appreciate the nice comments about our staff, newly updated guest rooms, room service and location.

We just wanted to point out that there is no construction at the hotel. Our renovation has been completed.

We greatly appreciate you choosing our luxury independent hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

If you are in Boston for a conference at the Hynes center, the Colonnade might be a good choice. Good value for money and close to convenient subways station (especially Coppey).

My room (King luxe) matched the description on the web site. It was quite large, well equipped (round table, coffee maker, iron and iron table) and lighting was excellent contrary to what is said in a review. There was also a wide flat screen TV. I liked the contemporary design, although it is not breathtaking.
The bathroom is somewhat under-dimensioned compared to the room, but nice and furnished with the usual amenities and two bathrobes.

I got a room on the last floor (11th) as requested when booking through Expaedia. With floor-to-ceiling windows, the view (on Prudential center) was Ok, especially if you like the beauty of huge buildings. Windows open but this makes the room quite noisy. Elevators were quick and available most of the time.

Downsides:
- Could not understand how the shower tap was working and had to action it for a while before getting the right water temperature.
- Had to pay 13,95 US $ a day for the internet connection (quite good). In a modern, four stars hotel, this should be included in the room rate.
- Apparently, all rooms are non smoking. This is not clearly indicated on the web site.
- Besides the proximity of the Hynes center, the neighborhood is not exciting and lacks charming restaurants and nice shops.

  • Liked — The room confort
  • Disliked — The internet connection rate
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Thierry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,306 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,241 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing