We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We recently stayed at the Collonade Hotel when traveling to Boston for an audition at the New England Conservatory. We had a fantastic experience! The staff were welcoming and very professional. When a snowstorm shortened our stay, they were able to help us check out a day early without penalty. The concierge assisted us with directions to the airport taking tunnel construction into consideration. Our breakfast was a real treat. The food was delicious and the service excellent. I look forward to the chance to stay at the Collonade again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,691 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

I spent 3 nights here on a business trip. The location was perfect: a short walk from Northeastern University, on "arts row" and near some very fine restaurants. And there is a subway stop right outside the hotel, too.

My room on the top floor featured ample space, a super comfortable king size bed, TV with all the channels I care about (that is just a few choice ones, but pay options were offered, too) and Wi-Fi/ethernet cable for the room. The layout was well thought through in every detail.

The on-site restaurant has some private rooms, which made for an excellent dinner meeting after a full conference day. It is so helpful not to have to shout to have a great conversation. And the food was very, very good. My shrimp appetizer featured huge, tasty shrimp and my steak was perfectly done to order, All the other food items got very fine reviews as well from colleagues. The wait staff was efficient and attentive in all the right ways.

Our departure was delayed by a winter storm, and we were able to stay in the same rooms, which was a relief.

Staff were excellent: attentive, never intrusive, and always helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Love this place. The staff is always so friendly and helpful and the location is perfect for getting all around Boston. And how can you not love a hotel that give you a rubber ducky in the bathroom. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My son and I traveled to Boston so that he could perform at his live audition the New England Conservatory of Music. I cannot tell you how much my son and I enjoyed our stay at the Colonnade! The hotel was spotless, very nicely appointed and conveniently located to the city and all of it's many attractions. The staff was very friendly and conscientious of our every need. The icing on the cake was the thoughtful nutrition gift bag and the personalized letter to my son which was placed in our room with advice and encouragement on his audition. The staff even took the time to identify what instrument Jonathan was auditioning for and identified that in his letter! That gesture really touched both of us and I'm sure it had a positive influence on his physical and mental state of mind at his audition.
On all of our future trips to the Boston area, we will only stay at The Colonnade! The hotel and staff really made it feel like home!
Doug and Jonathan
P.S. The audition went exceptionally well by the way!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor overlooking Huntington Ave with a beautiful view of the city and was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Everything was super clean, comfy , and awesome. Upon arrival, we were promptly checked in. Make sure to sign up for their rewards program to get free internet and a late checkout


Btw they have rubber ducks that are fantastic

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zausnedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Everything you could want in a hotel. Great welcome, fantastic room, super-helpful concierge staff, perfect location, reasonable price for the city. Special shout-out to Brittney Deschenes, who couldn't have been any nicer. When I made the reservation, I mentioned we were in town to do something "special" for our anniversary, and the reservationist must have made a note of that, because everyone made a point of saying "Happy Anniversary". Because it was Valentine's weekend, Brittney was set up in the lobby with a camera, taking photos of couples heading out to celebrate, and although we had walked in a snowstorm and looked it, we couldn't escape her enthusiasm and posed for our photo. A short time later, back in our room, another staff member delivered our photo, printed and framed!! along with some cookies to go with the candy that had been left during turn-down service. We even had a nice note from the hotel manager congratulating us and thanking us for choosing the Colonnade for our celebration. Breakfast the next morning in the hotel bistro was also very good albeit pricey, but it wasn't the hometown diner either. The hotel was obviously modernized recently, so the black and chrome furniture looks good, but I've sat in more comfortable chairs to read, Great pillows on the bed, and loved being able to charge my iPhone on the clock radio. All amenities were first-class. We would (and will) definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor, but elevators were fast and plentiful, so it wasn't an issue. Close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkjdwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Warm, inviting welcome on a very, very cold day made a great stay to my stay. The room was quiet, exceptionally clean, very comfortable and in a nice area for getting pretty much everywhere. The room was very well equipped with a fantastic bed, table and chairs, high quality lighting that made working there a breeze.

For a business trip I would say this hotel is perfect. I'd think about staying here for leisure too, although my personal preference is to be a little closer to the North End of the city. That said, with a large, diverse mall on your doorstep and many great eateries and bars nearby it is still a great choice for your stay in Boston.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,541 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $148 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing