We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth sailing at The Collonade.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smooth sailing at The Collonade.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had several events in Boston this weekend and used The Collonade as out home base. Excellent location on Huntington Ave with a T stop out front. Easy on site parking. Walking distance to Prudential Center, Museum of Fine Arts, BSO and many other cultural attractions.
Nice rooms and great beds.
The staff was extremely courteous and attentive. We had late night dessert and drinks in the French style restaurant. Superb!
I particularly liked the bartenders.
The Collonade has a nice vibe. Classy but not pretentious. I will stay there on my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear MJMesser,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and level of service. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,840
    741
    219
    79
    57
See reviews for
729
839
136
743
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We we were in Boston for an event at House of Blues and wanted a hotel nearby. After researching and reading reviews, we decided on Colonnade, which was running a Valentine's special. We were very pleased and recommend this hotel. Our room had a nice view of the city and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Thomas C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Colonnade Hotel. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
218 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was the first time that I stayed at the Collonade. I was referred to the hotel through the meeting organizor and I was extremely satisfied with the service on all fronts. I only wish that I had been there in the summer to also take in their rooftop pool and hospitality ! The restaurant on site is first class french cuisines. The front desk staff are very helpful. The concierge and door men are particularly attentive to your every need and inquiry. The meeting rooms were excellent, well catered and comfortable. The Collonade is right on the green line T system. Excellent access to all points of the city. Use the system ! There is also a tour trolly that goes by the front door. Across the street is a wonderful mall with shops of all sorts if you need to shop...including many restaurants. I'll put the Collonade on my list for a return visit when in Boston.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the street...great sunsets over the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leasiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Leasiders,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate your kind words. We look forward to having you stay with us when you can enjoy our Roof Top Pool and all the summer fun Boston has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I stay in Boston often, and this is by far one of my favorite destinations. Location--check. Service--check. Facilities--check. Easy to get to and from, staff is wonderful, very very nice restaurant and bar (try the grilled chicken paillard), and great rooms! Red Sox, Museum of Fine Arts, Prudential Center, and more all within striking distance.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mark F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate your kind words about our property and level of service. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

January 2014 - In the middle of the Polar Vortex environment which covered Boston is a very warm place called "The Colonnade Hotel." There you will find attentive and exceptional staff. The food is amazing, the environment is pleasing and warm, and the rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. (The bed and pillows were amazingly comfortable). There wasn't one employee that walked by without greeting me with a warm "Hello" or a "Good Morning/Afternoon." It felt like home. Loved my visit there and left with fond memories.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron04240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Ron04240 ,

I'm sorry the weather was not in our favor during your visit. However, I'm thankful our team was able to provide such warm hospitality. Our team prides ourselves on the level of service we offer to each guest. Please come back this summer and enjoy our Roof Top Pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
217 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at the Colonnade for the first time while in Boston for a conference, and was pleasantly surprised at the many little extras I experienced while there...
1) I was waiting for an associate in the lobby area - and the concierge asked me if I'd like water or coffee while waiting.
2) I had a wakeup call scheduled (which came on time) - and it was a REAL PERSON! Who greeted me by name, and asked if I needed anything else... a very nice touch.
3) This was the most incredibly comfortable bed I've ever slept in. EVER. (Yes, this should probably be #1, huh?) Others at the conference also commented on the incredible bed and pillows, so I know it wasn't just me.
4) I stopped by the front desk to ask a question a few different times, and had someone different each time - all of 'em know their business, were unfailingly cordial, cheerful, and just fun to chat with.
5) The food at the conference was amazing - enough to make me veer from my diet, with little mini-donuts and glazed croissants in the morning, to mini parfaits at the afternoon break - and the decaf coffee was always hot (not true in most places in the AM service) as well as a great selection of teas... so based on this I'd recommend their restaurant also (French brasserie) as well as comments from other conference attendees, although I didn't eat there myself.
6) They are AT the Prudential stop on the Green Line, so I was able to get there for $2.50 on the mass transit system (the "T") from the airport easily. Cannot be overstated - with luggage, in bad weather, etc, you can still easily do public trans. Walk out the door - and you're at the T stop.
Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for Boston 'home'!

Room Tip: Management was helpful in assigning a quiet room - ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear marymcd,

Thank you for such an amazing review of our hotel! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and level of service. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We travelled here for a thanksgiving shopping break. From the time we arrived to when we left the staff were brilliant, nothing too much trouble.
The room was very big, with ample storage space.
Lovely area with table and chairs.
Very smart up to date coffee / tea machine which used the 'pods'.
Bathroom was a very good size.
Great idea having the ability to be able to tell staff if the room was ready for cleaning or do not disturb. This was done by buttons inside the room which illuminated outside in the corridor. Never seen this before and it worked - far better than hanging tags on the door handle.
We didn't eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment.

Hotel is well situated to get around. Just outside the hotel is a subway, handy if the weather is bad as you can get across the road via this route and end up in the shopping mall or the Cheesecake Factory :) If you turn right as you come out of the hotel and walk up a short distance on the opposite side of the road is a supermarket. Great for buying a few soft drinks or snacks.

I didn't rate the spa or breakfast as we didn't use either of these facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dph45232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear dph45232 ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and level of service. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing