We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay in a terrific location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in a terrific location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I spent two nights at the Colonnade while attending meetings in Boston. I stayed at the hotel years ago, and had a good experience. Since then the Colonnade has been modenized and the rooms updated. My room was a good size, overlooking Huntington Avenue. The room amenities are pleasant - including a Kuerig coffee maker and a fine entertainment system. Bathrooms are well lit with a makeup/shaving mirror and a cute rubber duck on the tub. Water pressure was good in the shower and the toiletries are of good quality. The beds are very comfortable, and there are overbed lamps for reading at night. I like to exercise when I travel, and I found the fitness room to be clean, the equipment of high quality, and amenities like water and fruit were available. Since it was snowing outside, the fitness room was very handy.

The highlight of the stay was the incredible customer service - from check in to housekeeping - everyone was engaging and helpful without being overwhelming.

We ate in the restaurant one night, and the food was delicious! I highly recommend it. Finally, the location is ideal. The Prudential T station is directly in front of the hotel, and the Prudential Center with shopping and restaurants is directly across the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedicatedhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Dedicatedhiker ,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay. I am thrilled our staff was so helpful during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    783
    224
    80
    57
See reviews for
767
876
143
792
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband booked me a surprise trip to Boston over the new year holiday 2013 as a birthday and retirement present. We stayed at the Colonnade hotel in the Back Bay area of the city. The hotel is in a fantastic location directly opposite the Prudential center , with its many shops and restaurants, the Old Town Trolley stops directly outside and there is a T station right outside too. We were originally only staying for 4 nights until the snow storm came and our flight back to Heathrow was cancelled. We could not get a flight home for another 5 nights. We were lucky to keep our room at the hotel [ thanks to Virgin holidays arranging it for us ] . The staff at the hotel were amazing, they made us feel at home and even sent us a bottle of wine to the room with a note saying ' sorry you are stranded in Boston but so happy that you are stranded with us ' a really lovely touch.We think this was sent by the lovely irish lady in housekeeping whose name I am afraid we never found out. The bellboys and the concierge were very friendly and helpful and on the day we finally did depart Norman [ a bellboy ] kept us updated with the flight times throughout the day and could not have been more helpful.We would certainly go back to this hotel , although maybe in the summer next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear golfingboy ,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm thankful our staff made such an impression on you. Our team is a big part of our success and its no surprise to me they made you feel at home. Please come back and visit us this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

In a word, fantastic. I stayed here for a convention and I cannot begin to tell you the level of customer service I received. Attention to detail, polite, above and beyond every minute of every day. The concierge gave me so much information on what I should see and how I should do it...even gave me a map with routes on it, the less expensive ways to sight see, etc. All of the staff seemed happy to see you, said hello and goodbye, it was like leaving a good friend's house.

During our convention, they had breakfast and snacks each day for our attendees and provided such personal touches in our rooms. I went to a few other hotels for events and none compared. In fact, their attendees were jealous of us when they heard our experiences! This was not even the headquarter hotel for the meeting!

The rooms were small, but impeccable. Great taste in decor and set up, very clean and comfortable and had all the comforts of home, even a rubber ducky!

I was highly impressed and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Kayla F,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed everything about the hotel. Our staff prides themselves on the level of service we're able to provide so many wonderful guests. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

From the moment I arrived to my departure, the staff provided a warm and welcoming experience. The room was fantastic. The location provided easy access to the places around town I visited while in Boston. I was not a faceless guest staying in a hotel. I will definitely consider the Colonnade for my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Tim G,

It is truly a pleasure to read your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It means a lot to know that each member of our team was able to impact your visit so significantly. We hope to welcome you back to the Colonnade hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed only for three days in this hotel and we checked out and flew to SF just a day before Hercules storm came.The hotel obviously just had undergone a major renovation. It looked modern and stylish. The room was nice and the bathroom was spacious. The bed was extra comfort. However, if you stay with little kids, beware of the sharp edges of the bed. The hotel is just across Prudential shopping mall which has several big names in fashion, bookstores, supermarket and restaurants (ie. cheesecake factory) including T train that can take us to most part of Boston. Taxi is relatively easy to get. They line up in front of the hotel near to underpass to Prudential Center. However, if the weather permits, you can just enjoy the walk to many interesting sites nearby: Newburry shopping street (from Chanel, Burberry to Nordstrom Rack), Boston Common and park, Quincy Market and North End. However, if you prefer to take a taxi to North End, it will only set you back around 13 bucks. Overall, we love our stay in this hotel. In fact, we love Boston.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaltrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Globaltrading,

Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments. We're happy you found our location to be convenient for everything you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My company placed me here because it was the most affordable location near Copley Square at the time. I think it was fortunate because I will definitely stay here again. The location, rooms and staff are excellent. You are also located between two malls so you have access to almost any high end store you want.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor or room opposite Huntington Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReBroker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear ReBroker1,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We agree that having both the Copley Place Mall and The Prudential Center Mall directly across the street makes us a shopper’s paradise when staying in Boston. I hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed for one night last Thursday. Had a wonderful room on the 11th floor. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly, couldn't ask for more. The location was great to walk into the South End or Downtown. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomansisanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear josh G ,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I appreciate your compliments of our staff. I'm happy to know you found our location to be so perfect. We're lucky to be walking distance to both the Back Bay and the South End. Please come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing