We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Colonnade”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Stay at the Colonnade”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The rooms were spacious; the beds comfortable; the food delicious; the location very convenient. Above all else, every staff member was welcoming and professional. Three cheers for Norman who went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Chris M,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Norman is a true asset to our team and I appreciate your compliment of him. Please come back and visit us soon!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,061
    816
    238
    84
    60
See reviews for
826
914
149
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at The Colonnade for one night in October and wish we could have stayed longer. The friendly welcome we received by everyone working in the front lobby was just the beginning. Our room was extremely comfortable especially the bed which is key when you're looking to get a good night's sleep before a fun day in Boston. We enjoyed coffee over the view from the floor to ceiling windows of the Prudential Tower all the way out to Fenway Park. We walked everywhere from The Colonnade and I highly recommend it for it's location, comfort, cleanliness, and helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear ClaudiaD

Thank you for your terrific review! There is no doubt that our location is a wonderful benefit for our guests and I am very glad that you were able to see much of Boston during your visit. Thank you for the compliments of our staff, the team makes every effort to go above and beyond for all of our guests. Come back and see us again soon!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was a nice hotel, not amazing, but clean, comfortable, decent location. Nice diner for breakfast just a block from the hotel, recommendation from concierge. Easy walk to Copley Square and Library. Shopping right across the street. Most of the restaurants in this area are chains. It is worth looking for something local! We were put in a handicapped accessible room, which was fine, but the shower was very hard to operate. Had to pay extra for internet access, which should have been included.

Room Tip: Our window opened to another building, which didn't offer much privacy and not much light, stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear JCogh

Thank you for your kind words about our location. I apologize your guest room was less than you had expected. Please reach out to me directly so I can note your profile for future reservations.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Another excellent stay at the colonnade. Just can't fault it - great location, spacious rooms, amazing beds, lovely food and excellent staff. Particular mention to Nuala Creedon who made our stay even more enjoyable
I've stayed in many hotels in Boston and this is by far the best - I'd highly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear trekkerDublin

Thank you so much for your review. Nuala is a valued member of our management team and a big part of our success. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Colonnade Hotel!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This had been a good hotel. But problems are appearing - and travelers will want to consider:

1) The air temperature had no means of control. The only option was to turn off the heat - which did not reduce the overheat/stuffiness - so windows had to be opened (which result in issues of outside noise).

2) As other tripadvisors have noted, the beds sit on frames with sharp corners - which are dangerous.

3) In the tub, the drain runs slowly - so that when using the shower, the tub fills with water.

The hotel is well-located - but travelers should consider the problems.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank triptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear triptraveller,

I apologize that you experienced so many opportunities during your recent stay with us. Please contact me directly as I would love to talk further on correcting these issues. I look forward to hearing from you

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a shopping bus tour package. Likely could not have afforded to stay here otherwise. Very luxurious room with a fantastic view. Loved the wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling windows in the room. Beds were incredibly comfortable.
The only concern I had was that when we arrived there was a half empty bottle of spring water left in behind in our room on the table. Not sure if it belonged to the cleaning staff or a previous guest. Either way it shouldn't have been there because it meant someone wasn't doing their job. Also we weren't left enough bath towels on the second day (and there were only two of us in the room).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear SandySue123,

Thank you for your review. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly do have the most comfortable beds. I’m glad you enjoyed the amazing view from your guest room. I do apologize for the discovery in your room upon arrival, that’s certainly not in line with the standards we have in place and corrective action has already been taken. Thank you for the oppurtunity to address this. Please come back and visit us again!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I attended a conference at Boston Convenetion and Exhibition Center. Fortunately we had shuttles to BCEC but the Prudentail T- stop is right outside the hotel front door. You could not have a better location for shopping, sight-seeing, and eating. I was most impressed by the courteous and accommodating nature of all of the staff, including those at the restaurant. The room was spacious and comfortable and I enjoyed the k-cup coffee maker every morning before venturing out into the chilly weather. Fortunately I did not need the room internet (I had my own MIFi) and only used the tiny business center to print my boarding pass. These two items kept me from giving the property the highest rating. Overall I enjoyed my 5 night stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAA6302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear DAA6302

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate the compliments regarding our staff, we’re fortunate to have a strong team whose focus is on our guests at all times. Please come back and see us again!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,795 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing