We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a great location”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at this hotel for two nights and were overall very pleased. We arrived early on check in day and the hotel was accomodating to get us a room, especially in the location we requested.

Hotel room are very comfortable in size; king bed and pillows were very good. Hotel was very clean especially the rooms. Cleaning staff/team was great. Yes they really cleaned our room, not like some hotels.

Restaurant was convenient for breakfast. Food was very good but a little on the high side.

Pool area is only open from Memorial day through labor day so that was a little disappointing but plenty to do in Boston so we kept busy.

As others have stated area is safe, so no issues there.

Although room to room we did not hear any noise, the hallway noise can be heard. However the hotel has a white noise machine built into the radio so that was great. Unfortunately we did not figure that out until night two.

Hotel staff are all pleasant to deal with so that is a plus.

Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Select a high room if you are on the street side so you do not hear the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,809 - 1,815 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

My son & I stayed here for one night before flying to Ireland. It was move in weekend for college and a busy time which is why we assumed the price was elevated. We paid extra to be on a higher floor but found out from other people on our floor that they did not pay extra. The room was small and dated. The bathtub and sink did not drain properly. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating but I did not feel that our money was well spent. We could have stayed at a chain hotel for cheaper and been just as if not more satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robenz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Room was large, very comfortable king size bed with lots of pillows, good bathroom, large tv, great city view. Very comfortable room for our first two nights of our New England trip. Great location, easy to walk to all sights and For evening shopping and restaurants and bars. Parking on site a little expensive but was convenient Loved Boston.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michelleb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

They dont smile and whenever i call for anything i want they dont gibe you what you want.. It's a shame that they spoil the jotel's reputation by their personal attitudes.

Actually the receptionist was cool. The worst part was the room service and the one who brought to me the fridge key.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nasser Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Let's go through the good things first. It is undoubtedly in a good location. It's directly opposite the Prudential Center, so there is no problem in finding a good choice of places to eat. There's also a T-stop and trolley stop right outside the hotel. The room itself was large for a city centre hotel and the bed and pillows were amazing. However, after reading all these reviews and looking at their website I expected it to be much better, particularly in appearance. Décor is dated with rooms having a grubby brown colour scheme. Although there was no doubt that the bathroom and bed linens were clean, the room hadn't been dusted for what seemed like weeks... and wasn't until my husband drew a line in the dust on the sideboard. The next day it was clean! They also tried to charge me for stuff from the mini-bar which I hadn't had. Brittney on Concierge was really helpful, as for reception - well it depended who was on duty at the time.

Room Tip: Whilst the front of the hotel has city views, the back of the hotel is quieter for a good night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedShoesNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is located perfectly on huntington avenue near copley square. That is the only thing that is good about the hotel. The rooms have extremely thin walls and one can hear bathroom flushing in the next room and conversations. The elevators are dated and slow. The staff is good but not friendly. I dont recall one person saying hello or good morning to me in my 5 days there. The breakfast restaurant was excellent

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in boston, clean modern rooms, helpful staff especially bell captain norman. Boston is a quiet clean and beautiful city which sums up the colonnade. The hotel is close to the city centre and shopping facilities at copley place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwood1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,427 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,539 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $148 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing