We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Amazing location”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed there for leisure after a conference at the Harborside. The location was perfect to shopping and to walking distance destinations. We loved walking to Boylston street and Newbery street where all the action is going. The hotel is clean. We had a room that looked over the main street. I loved seeing the cars and people stralling. The hotel is cross the street from cheesecake factory and the famous prudential center and copley place and all the amazing shopping venues. The room were clean and always ready and on time all available products. The only issue that was really negative for me the wifi. My iphone 5 was never able to catch the signal in the room. in the lobby it was available but very slow. Jo Brasserie is an amazing place for food. The reception staff were very professional and kind. The concierge staff also were very helpful and pleasant to talk to. I recommend this hotel. they are worth the price.

Room Tip: I liked a room that has a vie won the main street. and all rooms are sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lelou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,850 - 1,856 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location is walking distance to many landmarks inBoston including Newburry street, Boylston strut and prudential center. Very close to duck tour station , & Mariott hotel. the hotel has professional staff, good housekeeping. The only challenge was Internet inside the room. Net in the lobby is available for free. Check in and check out are smooth and very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get high level rooms for better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wh0208674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I owe this wonderful hotel a review for simetime now, so my apologies for such a delay. We just spent another great weekend in Boston and of course we stayed at the Colonnade! Great staff, clean rooms, perfect location and the rooftop pool is the best in the city! If not the only! Perfect spot to enjoy the sun with a yummy sangria! And absolutely visit the Brasserie! Great drinks and appetizers, serviced by the most attentive bar attender. Interesting night scene - "Little Iceland", if I may say or Scandinavia.. in other words, beautiful people from Europe. Thank you Colonnade - we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. We upgraded to the 2 room suite and found the extra space was really nice. It is right across the street from a shopping center and many restaurants. It was a nice walking distance (10-15 minutes) to Boston Common.

Pros: Excellent friendly staff, spacious rooms, every amenity that you could wish for. Internet enabled TV's with wireless keyboards. DVD players. Has a rooftop pool with a bar which is great to relax by. Parking located on hotel property.

Cons: More expensive than some hotels in the area. No free Wi-Fi which one would think they could include with the loftier price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dabessers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the Colonnade on a short birthday trip earlier this month. The location was great. It was convenient to so many activities. We were able to walk to Fenway and it was a short T ride to many other things.

The pool on the roof is ok. It is small and it was tough to get a lounger.

The room was nice enough, but nothing special for the really high price we paid. Parking is also crazy expensive. Boston hotels are not cheap and the Colonnade was a good option.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mer4cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights for a conference a Northeastern. Overall, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in the Boston area (and in the US more generally).

Location is very good, with easy access to the T, to/from the airport, and pretty everything in Boston (MFA, Hynes, Copley, Government Center). The room was reasonably appointed, quiet, large. Water pressure in the shower, a perennial issue elsewhere, was great (and even a bit too high). The fitness center is nice, room service worked well and delivered decent quality.

Why no 5 points? Because there is still optimization potential, and there is a very considerable gap when compared with really great hotels elsewhere in the world, especially given the price point of this hotel. For instance, while the staff at the front desk were very friendly, the folks at the bell desk (when you walk in) would generally just ignore me instead of saying hi. On one occasion, the room was not made up in the 8-hour window between 8:00 AM and 4:00 PM. On check-in, one of the lamp screens was broken and the ethernet cable provided in the room did not work. And the air conditioning unit in the room is extremely noisy, as if whisper quiet air con units did not exist; unless you are used to this, bring earplugs in summer (and perhaps also winter, if the unit is used for heating as well).

I still would recommend the Colonnade.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mugwump888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my first visit to America & this hotel very much impressed me. It's in a very good central location, with the subway literally a few minutes away, the shops just across the street and the airport just 20 minutes away. The rooms were large and very efficient, they were clean and met all basic needs. Breakfast was overpriced and the service wasn't great but the majority of the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, very good stay:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,541 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $148 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing