We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an ok hotel”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel was clean, the location was good but the whole place was without a soul, there was no vibe, no life, the staff had no personality. The pool was somewhat claustrophobic but still better than no pool i suppose. There is nothing to complain about with this hotel but also nothing to write home about. I feel it could really benefit from a coffee shop in the lobby or something to add some life! The beds were very very comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alc0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear alc0123,

I’m glad you found our rooms to be clean and the location to be perfect. I’m surprised you found our staff to be lifeless. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most responsive team in the city. I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Colonnade Hotel in the future.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,907 - 1,913 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Really great location, nice room and mostly friendly service. You are right in the middle of Copley square. There's a T stop and many of the tour stops right outside the entrance.

I knocked off one star because the guy who we asked to hold our bags was somewhat rude and we had trouble with our AC one night. All in all, i eould definetly stay there again. Tip: AAA does 110% price matching for this hotel, meaning they will match any online price plus 10% of the difference in price. So, instead of $272 a night I only paid $208.

Thank LaLaVroom
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear LaLaVroom,

Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to your future stay!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Got a really good deal to stay here for two nights. The rooms are nicely furnished, not huge but very nice. One issue - our room had an interconnecting door to an adjoining room and the sound proofing was terrible so we could clearly hear the people next door which was not good. Glasses we had used on the first day of our stay were not replaced by the made but were just removed which was irritating.

The roof top pool is great and we enjoyed some great cocktails up there.

Garage parking at 48 dollars per day seemed very expensive and hotel guests do not get a discounted rate so pay the same as non-residents which I think is something that should be addressed.

All in all though a great location and a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Sirbalkansobranie,

Thank you for the feedback. I’m happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry for the missed opportunities with your housekeeping service. We take great pride in exceeding guest’s expectations and it seems that in this circumstance we did not meet your expectations. Overnight parking for hotel guests is $42.00. Our parking rates are competitive with area garages and we allow unlimited in and out access to all of our hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent the 4th of July weekend with my husband and in laws, the hotel is at the perfect location, walking distance to all the city's sight seeing, shopping malls and the subway station is right in front if you want to go to other places, rooms are very comfortable and cozy. Downsides are the pool which is definitely not as nice as it shows in the website, it is really small, we were never able to find a chair when we were there, it was packed, it is smaller than a cruise ship pool for those of you who know what we mean... Also they had serious maintenance issues with the elevators, not only we had it twice falling two floors and suddenly stopping which was scary, but one day they had a programming issue and they would all stop in every single floor, everybody was complaining, it could take half an hour to get in or out of your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFRGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Ordonez8797,

Thank you for your review! I’m happy to hear you and your family were able to enjoy Boston’s only Roof Top Pool over the 4th of July! I’m sorry to hear the elevator was making stops on every floor; our technicians were able to identify the issue. Please come back and see us again!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just returned from visiting our son in Boston for the July 4th weekend. Had a great stay at the Colonnade Hotel. The rooftop pool came in very handy as it was 99 degrees for the whole weekend. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly especiall Norman the doorman who is very friendly and always helpful to the guests. He makes you feel right at home. Facilities are top notch and the food at the restuarants is very good. Will stay here again on future trips to Beantown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Mike S,

Thank you for your review! I’m so happy to hear you and your family were able to enjoy the Roof Top Pool over the 4th of July! Our staff is a big part of our success so I’m happy to hear they made a lasting impression on you. Thank you for your comments about Norman; he’s a true asset to our hotel. Please come back and see us again soon!


Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great stay! Location is perfect. Within walking distance to any point in the city, especially if you are a fit traveller. If not, cabs always seemed readily available. Rooms clean and comfy beds. Check in a breeze, our room was ready hours before we expected, which made things very convenient for us. Didn't try the restaurant or room service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Shannon H,

Thank you for your review. I’m thrilled you found our location to be so perfect! Come back and see us again and try our award winning restaurant Brasserie Jo!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a great hotel. It is located directly in front of both a trolly stop and Green Line Rail. This made travel extremely convenient. The room was nice with probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept on as long as I can remember. The roof top pool is fun, but can be crowded. On weekdays the Colonnade allows local Bostonians to pay for entrance to the pool. The pool food and drinks were good. I would recommend Thornton's for breakfast. Walk out and take a left and it's a block down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Jim G,

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you were able to enjoy The Roof Top Pool. We do allow a limited amount visitors from the public to enjoy the pool during the week but we’re always exclusive to hotel guests on weekends and holidays. I’m happy you found our beds to be so comfortable!

Come visit us again soon!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,541 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $148 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing